Carrie Ludovico
Carrie Ludovico
Contact:
Business Librarian
(804) 287-6647
Subjects: Accounting, Business, Citing Sources, Copyright & Fair Use, Data & Statistics, Economics, First Year Seminar, Human Resources Management, International Business, Management, Marketing, Nonprofit Studies, Open Access & Faculty Scholarship, OSHER, PPEL, Primary Resources, Reference Sources, Richmond Area , Scholarly Publications, Special Topics
Business News
- Wall Street Journal (Website) This link opens in a new windowRead articles published on WSJ.com. Note: If you want to access WSJ using an app or via Google, create an individual account using your UR email address OR enter the email address in the app and send yourself a one-time passcode to login. The app does not redirect to the UR login screen, so you can't use your UR password. (Dow Jones)
- Financial Times This link opens in a new window*Create an account using your UR email address. Login to access this international news source with a special focus on the economy and financial markets. (Financial Times Ltd.)
Industry Research
Use these databases to find overall industry information, such as market share, average costs and standard ratios, supply chain and competitor information.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowMarket research reports for different industries in the US and select international markets, as well as state-specific industry reports and company benchmarking reports for more than 5000 companies. Reports include trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, forecasts, and industry growth rates. (IBISWorld)
- First Research This link opens in a new windowAccess industry profiles for over 900 industries, updated monthly. “Call prep” sheets include one-page executive summaries, as well as critical looks at key business challenges and opportunities, while the “Industry Prospector” allows the user to develop lists of industries using a combination of metrics. (LSEG - Mergent)
- Statista Industry ReportsComprehensive data on markets and industries, including market overviews, revenues, number of employees, as well as the latest information about the state of the industries, trends, and forecasts.
For more industry information, see the "Industry" tab on this guide:
Company Research
Use these databases to find company information; note that the level of information available for private and public companies varies widely.
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new windowAccess public and private company information (both US and foreign). This database includes executive contacts, news, SWOT reports, analyst reports and industry reports. Build company lists, research executives and explore triggers for various corporate events. (LSEG - Dun & Bradstreet)
- S&P NetAdvantage This link opens in a new windowAccess a broad spectrum of industry, company, and investment analysis. The database includes S&P industry surveys and stock reports (S&P equity research) where you can drill down to industry and sub-industry key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, and more. (S&P Global)
- PrivCo This link opens in a new windowFind data on non-publicly-traded corporations. Note: Click the "Direct Access" link to access the database. Create an account to save your searches. (PrivCo)
- PitchBook This link opens in a new windowThis database contains company profiles, news and data for private equity, venture capital, and mergers & acquisitions research. (PitchBook)
For more company databases, look at the "Company Information" tab on this guide:
Market Research
Use the databases below to identify consumer trends and preferences, and market projections.
- Passport GMID This link opens in a new windowAccess key business intelligence on countries, markets, and companies. This database provides historical statistics and forecasts, analysis of consumers' lifestyles, information sources, brand and company information, plus full-text market analysis. (Euromonitor International)
- MarketResearch.com Academic This link opens in a new windowAccess market research reports from a range of publishers covering every sector of the economy as well as emerging industries, with a particular focus on consumer goods and services. Coverage includes both US and international content. (MarketResearch.com)
For more market research, use this guide:
Other Resources
- Insider Intelligence This link opens in a new windowAccess data, research reports, and forecasts for a range of industries, including advertising and marketing, social media, financial services (including fintech), technology, health, automotive, ecommerce and retail. It includes US and international content. (Insider Intelligence, Inc.)
Looking for eMarketer? That database was absorbed into the "Insider Intelligence" one listed above.
