Humanities Librarian
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Top Resources for German Literatures and Cultures
These databases are useful for finding articles, essays, and book chapters on language, literature, linguistics, and related topics.
Remember that if the full text of an article you want to read is not available in the database you are searching, you should use Journal Titles to learn whether we have access and by what means (another database, the publisher's web site, or the print collection in Boatwright).
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric/composition, and folklore. (EBSCO)
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowSearch for biographies, overviews, and critical analysis of literary topics, authors, and their works. (Gale)
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on topics related to the humanities and social sciences. (EBSCO)
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the humanities. (EBSCO)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the arts, humanities, and social sciences. (Project MUSE)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Search an index of journal articles in the arts and humanities. This database is part of the Web of Science platform and can also be used to track, evaluate, and compare journals and articles. Tools included are the number of citations, the journal's impact factor, and other metrics. (Clarivate)
- Gale Literature: Twayne's Author Series This link opens in a new windowAccess critical introductions to the lives and works of writers, to the history and influence of literary movements, and to the development of literary genres. (Gale)
- Gale Literature: Scribner Writer Series This link opens in a new windowAccess biographical and critical essays on the lives and works of important authors from around the world. (Gale)
- FIAF: International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to film, film theory, film history, and film criticism. The database also contains "Treasures from the Film Archives," which has a detailed index of the silent-era film holdings of archives from around the world. (ProQuest)
- Bibliographie der Deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft Online (BDSL)Major online information source for German literary scholarship created by Universitätsbibliothek Johann Christian Senckenberg in Frankfurt am Main. Covers 1985 -
- CinefilesContains scanned images of reviews, press kits, film festival and repertory theater program notes, newspaper articles, and other ephemera from collections.of the Berkeley Art Museum and Film Collection Archives
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of German LiteratureEntries on the authors, works, topics, and influences of German literary studies arranged in A-to-Z format.
- Deutsche BiographieBrief biographies of famous dead Germans.
Streaming Video resources
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Access a massive collection of streaming videos, including documentaries, interviews, performances, newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage, among others. Most topics are represented in this database. (Alexander Street Press)
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowSearch this streaming video collection of documentaries, educational films, classic Hollywood movies, and world cinema. Note: Not all Kanopy films are immediately available for streaming. For any that are unavailable, please fill out the request form in Kanopy with as much information as possible to convey your teaching or research needs. The library will only unlock videos used for courses and assignments. (OverDrive)
- Theatre in Video This link opens in a new windowStream documentaries, performances of various plays, and interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors. (Alexander Street Press)
