Humanities Librarian
Marcia Whitehead
Contact:
Boatwright Library
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Subjects: American Studies, Biography, Book Reviews, Citing Sources, Classical Studies, E-Books, English & Literature, First Year Seminar, French, German, Humanities, International Education, Language and Linguistics, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Studies, Master of Liberal Arts, Primary Resources, Reference Sources, Rhetoric & Communication Studies, Richmond Area , Russian, Scholarly Publications, Spanish, Special Topics
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
GERMAN LANGUAGE, LITERATURE, AND CULTURE
Guide to Resources for German Language Learning and Cultural Studies
Welcome
Welcome to the Research Guide for German Language, Literature, and Culture. Please email me if the resources you find on this guide cannot answer your questions or if you would like to consult me on their use.
Databases for Linguistics and Language Behavior
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to psychology, including emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, mental processes, anthropology, observational and experimental methods, and more. (EBSCO)
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to communication, linguistics, mass media, and journalism. (EBSCO)
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to education, including all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. (EBSCO)
- L'Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles relating to all aspects of the Ancient Greek and Roman civilizations, including history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, numismatics, papyrology, and epigraphy. Note: Only two users may access this database at the same time. (Brepols Publishers)
Language Dictionaries and Learning Resources
- Duden OnlineDuden publishes and sells dictionaries, but they have a free one online.
- PONS online dictionaryGerman-English dictionary and language learning services.
- BeolingusOnline dictionary and language trainer created by a German technical university.
- Der digitale Grimm: Deutsches Wörterbuch von Jacob und Wilhelm GrimmHistorical and etymological German dictionary,
- Wortschatz Universität LeipzigSearchable Internet German language corpus, a German dictionary, a portal of German to English translations, and the "word of the day.
- Mango Languages This link opens in a new windowOnline language learning system in which you create your own account for learning at your own speed. Mobile app available. For more help getting started see Getting Started with Mango.
