Humanities Librarian
Marcia Whitehead
Contact:
Boatwright Library
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Subjects: American Studies, Biography, Book Reviews, Citing Sources, Classical Studies, E-Books, English & Literature, First Year Seminar, French, German, Humanities, International Education, Language and Linguistics, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Studies, Master of Liberal Arts, Primary Resources, Reference Sources, Rhetoric & Communication Studies, Richmond Area , Russian, Scholarly Publications, Spanish, Special Topics
Articles on History and Culture
Remember that if the full text of an article you want to read is not available in the database you are searching, you should use Journal Titles to learn whether we have access and by what means (another database, the publisher's web site, or the print collection in Boatwright).
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the arts, humanities, and social sciences. (Project MUSE)
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. (EBSCO)
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to political science, political theory, political behavior, public policy, law, international relations, comparative politics, and non-governmental organizations. (EBSCO)
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles, reports, and grey literature on topics related to the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. "PAIS" stands for "Public Affairs Information Service," and the content dates from the early 1900s-present. (ProQuest)
Country Information
- CountryWatch This link opens in a new windowAccess reports on each of the world’s countries, with a focus on the political and economic situation as well as demographic, cultural and environmental news and information. (CountryWatch)
- Countries & Their CulturesProvides excellent overviews of a country's culture describing the same categories for every country in the world.
- World FactbookBrief profile and statistics of every country in the world collected by the CIA.
- Country StudiesIn-depth analysis of of the historical, social, political and governmental institutions and systems of countries throughout the world.
- Country Background NotesDescriptions of countries covering history, people, economy and political conditions by the US State Department
- City Population - Statistics & Maps of the Cities of the WorldProvides demographic and other information on cities throughout the world.
International News on the Web
- Kidon NMedia LinkLinks to 19,740 newspapers and other news sources from almost every country and territory in the world
- Today's Front Pages855 front pages of newspapersfrom 86 countries are linked to the actual websites for the current day. Papers can be sorted by region.
- Google News--Languages and Regions70 regional editions of Google News in many different languages
- Online NewspapersThousands of Newspapers Listed by Country & Region
International News Sources
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles and legal materials such as court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more. (Lexis-Nexis)
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowAccess news and company reports, stock quotes, and market information from Dow Jones and Reuters. This database has extensive international news coverage. (Dow Jones)
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from the archives of the Times of London newspaper, which covers general news, culture, fine arts, politics, history, and more. (Gale)
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles from hundreds of national and regional newspapers, as well as transcripts of television and radio news. (EBSCO)