Need help? Chat with a Librarian
- Diversity in STEM ListZotero collection of books related to diversity in STEM
- Rec ReadingWhat's on the Rec Reading Shelves Now?
- OneSearchUse OneSearch to find books, recordings, scores, and other physical and electronic items, as well as selected journal articles.
Looking for different types of books with OneSearch on the library's homepage.
|
Books in general |
Books only in UR Libraries |
eBooks Only |
| If you want to see just books in general and do not mind potentially having to use Inter-Library Loan to receive a book, you can just view books in general by using the "Books" filter in OneSearch. | If you want to see only books in the UR Libraries you will want to use the "Books" filter, and the "In the Library" filter in OneSearch. | If you only want to see eBooks you will want to use the "Books" filter, and the "Online" filter in OneSearch. |
 |
 |
 |
This is not a comprehensive list of databases that include eBooks. These are just some of the ones that are known to house science materials.
- eBook Collection (Cambridge University Press) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks on topics in the humanities, social sciences, and science disciplines. (Cambridge)
- eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks on a wide variety of topics from many different university presses and commercial publishers. (EBSCO)
- eBook Collection (Elsevier) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks on topics related to the sciences, business, math, and psychology. (Elsevier)
- eBook Collection (ProQuest/Ebook Central) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks on a wide variety of topics from many different university presses and commercial publishers. (ProQuest)
- eBook Collection (Springer Nature) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks on topics related to business, computer science, and the social sciences. (Springer Nature)
- eBook Collection (Wiley) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks on topics related to business and science. (Wiley)
The library offers both Item Retrieval Services and Interlibrary Loan Services for faculty, staff, and students.
Item Retrieval Services are are for items that the UR Libraries owns in print format. This DOES NOT include DVDs, Videos, and Music CDs.
Interlibrary Loan Services are for items not owned by the library.
Our Library uses what's called Library of Congress Classification. This is just a fancy way to say that the books we have are shelved by subject and that we use call numbers (that start with letters) to know what shelf a book is located on. Those call numbers are directly tied to their subject. So for example, a book on animal behavior would be with all of the other QL books.
For those of you wanting to just go to the shelves and browse here are some of the Science related call numbers. You will notice most of them are in the Q's.
- GC: Oceanography
- GE: Environmental Sciences
- Q: Science (General)
- QA: Mathematics
- QB: Astronomy
- QC: Physics
- QD: Chemistry
- QE: Geology
- QH: Natural History - Biology
- QK: Botany
- QL: Zoology
- QM: Human Anatomy
- QP: Physiology
- QR: Microbiology
- R: Medicine (general)
Finding your way around B2 can be confusing. Below is a map of the floor. Clicking on the map will bring up an interactive map that will tell you what call number ranges are in each section. If you need additional assistance navigating B2, please just ask at the library front desk.
