Getting Started with General Databases for Identifying Articles
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles from hundreds of national and regional newspapers, as well as transcripts of television and radio news. (EBSCO)
Specialized Databases for Identifying Articles
- Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSearch an index of journal articles in the life sciences. This database is part of the Web of Science platform and can also be used to track, evaluate, and compare journals and articles. Tools included are the number of citations, the journal's impact factor, and other metrics. (Clarivate)
- Medline This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to biology, medicine, and psychology. (Clarivate)
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowSearch an index of journal articles in the liberal arts and the sciences. This link cross-searches the Core databases, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It's part of the Web of Science platform and can also be used to track, evaluate, and compare journals and articles. Tools included are the number of citations, the journal's impact factor, and other metrics. (Clarivate)
- SciFindern This link opens in a new window*Create an account to access this database. Search for journal articles, patents, conferences, books, and dissertations in chemistry and medicine. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic, and author. (American Chemical Society)
- Zoological Record This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to animal research, including behavior, biodiversity, conservation, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, morphology, nomenclature, parasitology, physiology, reproduction, taxonomy, and zoogeography. It also acts as the "unofficial registry of animal names" and includes the oldest taxonomic reference dating back to 1864. Since it's part of the Web of Science platform, it can also be used to track, evaluate, and compare journals and articles. Tools included are the number of citations, the journal's impact factor, and other metrics. (Clarivate)
Locating Articles through Journal Locator
Journal Titles (also accessed from the tab on the library home page) helps you to:
- identify which journal titles are available at UR
- identify which titles are in print or can be accessed as e-journals
- access the e-journals through UR subscription links *
- connect to the catalog to find "holdings" information for print titles (which volumes/years that UR owns)
- find UR journals by subject
* Most UR subscriptions must be accessed through the Journal Titles links and not by going directly to the journal's website. Most subscriptions are also verified by IP identification - you must access UR e-journals from the campus network or through the proxy server.
Some publishers "embargo" their most recent issues so that you may only be able to electronically access articles published 1-2 years earlier.
SciFinder Scholar: First-Time Users
The electronic version of Chemical Abstracts is available to the UR community through SciFinder Scholar - a research tool used to locate and process information on a wide variety of chemistry-related topics. Using Scholar, you may perform substructure and patent searches, follow hyperlinked sources, access many full-text sources, and also search Medline.
In order to access SciFinder Scholar, you will need to register first. Please contact Melanie Hillner if you have any questions about this process. Additional browser-related information is available in the SciFinder FAQ from the SciFinder help files.
Please remember:
- Do not share your login ID or password with any other individual or organization.
- Do not post a login ID or password on any website or blog.
- Ensure your password is established using best practices: the password must contain a minimum of 7 and a maximum of 15 characters, including at least three (3) of the following: letters, mixed upper- and lowercase letters, numbers, non-alphanumeric characters (e.g., @, #, %, &, *).
- Maintain the physical security of your password and your computer.
- Change your password every 3 months.
