Humanities Librarian
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Databases That Translate for You
Some databases will translate some or all full text items. Look for a tab (the location will vary) that offers this service for the following databases:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to business. Also included is some financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more. (EBSCO)
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles from hundreds of national and regional newspapers, as well as transcripts of television and radio news. (EBSCO)
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the humanities. (EBSCO)
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowAccess news and company reports, stock quotes, and market information from Dow Jones and Reuters. This database has extensive international news coverage. (Dow Jones)
Databases for Finding Articles about Languages and Literatures
These databases are useful for finding articles, essays, and book chapters on translation as well as, more generally, language, literature, linguistics, and related topics.
Remember that if the full text of an article you want to read is not available in the database you are searching, you should use Journal Locator to learn whether we have access and by what means (another database, the publisher's web site, or the print collection in Boatwright).
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric/composition, and folklore. (EBSCO)
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowSearch for biographies, overviews, and critical analysis of literary topics, authors, and their works. (Gale)
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on topics related to the humanities and social sciences. (EBSCO)
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the humanities. (EBSCO)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the arts, humanities, and social sciences. (Project MUSE)
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for background information on a variety of topics published in the Oxford series of reference books. Find information on topics in the arts, sciences, history, language and literature, and more. (Oxford)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Search an index of journal articles in the arts and humanities. This database is part of the Web of Science platform and can also be used to track, evaluate, and compare journals and articles. Tools included are the number of citations, the journal's impact factor, and other metrics. (Clarivate)
Identifying Translations
These databases or websites will help you discover what texts have been translated. Idex Translatioum was created by UNESCO to encourage cultural exchange through translation.You can find translations from a particular language in Book Review Digest by using the name of the language and the word "translations" in your subject search. For Worldcat, use the same strategy, but add the target language (e.g. English) to your search terms.
- Index Translationum - World Bibliography of TranslationThe database contains cumulative bibliographical information on books translated and published in about one hundred of the UNESCO Member States since 1979 and totals more than 1.900,000 entries in all disciplines: literature, social and human sciences, natural and exact sciences, art, history and so forth. It is planned to update the work every four months
- 3 Percent TranslationFree resource from Publisher's Weekly that can be downloaded going back to 2007 for works that have been translated into English.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Search a catalog of library holdings from around the world. Find which libraries have copies of a certain book, DVD, or other material. The FirstSearch interface was designed more with librarians in mind. (OCLC)
Literary Translation
- Translation and Lliterature.Translation and Literature is an interdisciplinary scholarly journal focusing on English Literature in its foreign relations
- Translation ReviewTranslation Review focuses on the theoretical, critical, practical, and cultural aspects of transplanting a literary text from one language into another
- Poetry Translation CentreThe Poetry Translation Centre gives the best contemporary poems from Africa, Asia and Latin America a new life in the English language, working with diaspora communities for whom poetry is of great importance.
- Words without BordersWords Without Borders expands cultural understanding through the translation, publication, and promotion of the finest contemporary international literature.
Software for Self Directed Language Learning
- Mango Languages This link opens in a new window
*Create an account using your UR email address. Use this database to learn languages like Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more. (Mango)
- SCOLA This link opens in a new window
Watch TV programming from around the world, and access other non-English-language resources, lessons, and learning material. (SCOLA)
Global Studio in the Weinstein International Center provides access to on site to Auralog's Tell Me More software for self-directed study in Arabic, Chinese, and Japanese. This software features voice recognition and a number of interactive tasks to enhance learning. In addition, Rosetta Stone is available for Farsi, Hebrew, Portuguese, Russian, and Turkish.