Humanities Librarian
Marcia Whitehead
Contact:
Boatwright Library
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Subjects: American Studies, Biography, Book Reviews, Citing Sources, Classical Studies, E-Books, English & Literature, First Year Seminar, French, German, Humanities, International Education, Language and Linguistics, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Studies, Master of Liberal Arts, Primary Resources, Reference Sources, Rhetoric & Communication Studies, Richmond Area , Russian, Scholarly Publications, Spanish, Special Topics
LEARNING LANGUAGES AND TRANSLATING TEXTS
Library and Web resources for self-directed language instruction and for translating between languages.
Most Popular Dictionaries
You can find dictionaries for use in the library in the reference collection on the first floor. Some dictionaries are also available for checkout in the circulating collection on B2. Here are the call number ranges if you want to browse
English PE 1628
French PC 2640
Italian PC 1625
Spanish PC 4640
German PF 3625
Chinese PL 1455
Japanese PL 678
Greek PA 445
Latin PA 2365
Arabic PJ 6640
Persian PK 6379
Russian PG 2640
Electronic Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Eudict: European DictionaryEUdict (European dictionary) is a collection of online dictionaries for the languages spoken in the European Community and the countries that will become members of European Community.
- Merriam-Webster's American DictionaryAlso has a thesaurus and a Spanish-English dictionary.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowLook up the meaning of words in this updated, online version of the Oxford English Dictionary. It's particularly useful when researching the etymology of a word. (Oxford)
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for background information on a variety of topics published in the Oxford series of reference books. Find information on topics in the arts, sciences, history, language and literature, and more. (Oxford)
Sources on Translation
The purpose of most of these sources is to describe or recommend specific English translations of works, usually literary, originally written in other languages.