Humanities Librarian
Marcia Whitehead
Contact:
Boatwright Library
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Subjects: American Studies, Biography, Book Reviews, Citing Sources, Classical Studies, E-Books, English & Literature, First Year Seminar, French, German, Humanities, International Education, Language and Linguistics, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Studies, Master of Liberal Arts, Primary Resources, Reference Sources, Rhetoric & Communication Studies, Richmond Area , Russian, Scholarly Publications, Spanish, Special Topics
Top Resources for Most Modern Literatures and Cultures
These databases are useful for finding articles, essays, and book chapters on language, literature, linguistics, and related topics.
Remember that if the full text of an article you want to read is not available in the database you are searching, you should use Journal Titles to learn whether we have access and by what means (another database, the publisher's web site, or the print collection in Boatwright).
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric/composition, and folklore. (EBSCO)
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowSearch for biographies, overviews, and critical analysis of literary topics, authors, and their works. (Gale)
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the humanities and social sciences. (EBSCO)
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the humanities. (EBSCO)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the arts, humanities, and social sciences. (Project MUSE)
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. (EBSCO)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new windowSearch an index of journal articles in the arts and humanities. This database is part of the Web of Science platform and can also be used to track, evaluate, and compare journals and articles. Tools included are the number of citations, the journal's impact factor, and other metrics. (Clarivate)
- Gale Literature: Twayne's Author Series This link opens in a new windowAccess critical introductions to the lives and works of writers, to the history and influence of literary movements, and to the development of literary genres. (Gale)
- Gale Literature: Scribner Writer Series This link opens in a new windowAccess biographical and critical essays on the lives and works of important authors from around the world. (Gale)
- Mango Languages This link opens in a new window*Create an account using your UR email address. Use this database to learn languages like Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more. (Mango)
If We Don't Have it
If we don't have the journal you need, you can borrow it through our Interlibrary Loan Service.
How to place a request:
- Visit the UR Library Catalog
- Log in
- Select either Article Request or Book Request for interlbrary Loan
- Enter the information about the item
- Click Submit Request
- To request another item, click your browser's back button and change the item information
International News Sources
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles and legal materials such as court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more. (Lexis-Nexis)
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowAccess news and company reports, stock quotes, and market information from Dow Jones and Reuters. This database has extensive international news coverage. (Dow Jones)
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from the archives of the Times of London newspaper, which covers general news, culture, fine arts, politics, history, and more. (Gale)
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles from hundreds of national and regional newspapers, as well as transcripts of television and radio news. (EBSCO)
Country Information
- CountryWatch This link opens in a new windowAccess reports on each of the world’s countries, with a focus on the political and economic situation as well as demographic, cultural and environmental news and information. (CountryWatch)
- Countries & Their CulturesProvides excellent overviews of a country's culture describing the same categories for every country in the world.
- World FactbookBrief profile and statistics of every country in the world collected by the CIA.
- Country StudiesIn-depth analysis of of the historical, social, political and governmental institutions and systems of countries throughout the world.
- Country Background NotesDescriptions of countries covering history, people, economy and political conditions by the US State Department
- BBC News Country ProfilesFull profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
- City Population - Statistics & Maps of the Cities of the WorldProvides demographic and other information on cities throughout the world.
- Cultural AtlasThe Cultural Atlas is a collaborative project between SBS (Australian Public Radio), International Education Services (IES), and Multicultural NSW. Created in 2016, it aims to inform and educate the public in cross-cultural attitudes, practices, norms, behaviours and communications.