Humanities Librarian
Marcia Whitehead
Contact:
Boatwright Library
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Subjects: American Studies, Biography, Book Reviews, Citing Sources, Classical Studies, E-Books, English & Literature, First Year Seminar, French, German, Humanities, International Education, Language and Linguistics, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Studies, Master of Liberal Arts, Primary Resources, Reference Sources, Rhetoric & Communication Studies, Richmond Area , Russian, Scholarly Publications, Spanish, Special Topics
Primary Resources
Below are databases owned or subscribed to by Boatwright Library which contain full texts.
- 18th Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowSearch books, pamphlets, and broadsides published between 1701-1800 in Britain (and its territories), Ireland, and the United States. The database includes materials in a variety of languages (although it's mostly English), and it contains an array of works - from encyclopedias to novels to law books to religious tracts to auction catalogs. (Gale)
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch an archive of newspapers published in the 1800s by a variety of groups, including political parties, African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, and the Confederacy. This collection includes newspapers from every one of the 50 modern-day US states. (Gale)
- 19th Century UK Periodicals (Part II: Empire) This link opens in a new windowSearch a collection of periodicals that focus on the role Britain played as an imperial power throughout the 1800s. It contains periodicals from Australia, Canada, Ceylon, India, New Zealand, and South Africa. (Note: We only have access to Part II: Empire). (Gale)
- Black Short Fiction and Folklore This link opens in a new windowAccess stories produced by authors from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present. Find fables, parables, ballads, folk tales, short story cycles, and novellas - each piece of content has fewer than 10,000 words. (ProQuest)
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800) This link opens in a new windowSearch for books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America during the 17th and 18th centuries. Most subject areas and genres of literature are represented in this collection. It also includes supplemental material from the the Library Company of Philadelphia. (Newsbank/Readex)
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) This link opens in a new windowSearch for books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America during the early 19th century. Most subject areas and genres of literature are represented in this collection. It also includes supplemental material from the the Library Company of Philadelphia. (Newsbank/Readex)
- Early American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles published in the US from the colonial period through Reconstruction. This collection was a gift of Edwin S. Snead III, class of 1951. (Newsbank/Readex)
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowAccess books printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1770. Subjects covered include literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, religion, and politics. (ProQuest)
- Corpus of Contemporary American EnglishThe Corpus of Contemporary American English is a large, genre-balanced corpus which can be used to accurately track and study recent changes in the language. The 400 million words corpus is evenly divided between spoken, fiction, popular magazines, newspapers, and academic journals.
Overview sites
These sites are generally broad in scope and provide links to sites with specific information.
- The American Short Story: A Selective ChronologyCovers the years from the early 18th to the late 19th century. Includes a bibliography of critical works on the short story as a literary form.
- Writer's WebCreated by the UR Writing Center. A great resource for writing and documenting tips.
- Creative Commons"offers convenient access to search services provided by other independent organizations"