It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENGLISH LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE RESEARCH GUIDE: Home
If we don't have the journal you need, you can borrow it through our Interlibrary Loan Service.
How to place a request:
Check the OneSearch to see if the library already owns the item.
If not, Login to ILLiad using your UR netid and password or create an account if this is your first request.
Select either Article Request, Book Request, or Book chapter request for interlbrary Loan
Enter the information about the item
Click Submit Request
To request another item, click your browser's back button and change the item information
Welcome to the English Language and Literature Research Guide. Please note this guide is using the tabs above to help organize the content. I hope this is helpful and if you need assistance please don't hesitate to contact me using my profile on the right!
Top 10 Resources
These databases are useful for finding articles, essays, and book chapters on language, literature, linguistics, and related topics.
Biographies, overviews, and critical analysis of literary topics, authors, and their works
Biographical sketches of over 130,000 authors and critical articles on over 2,000 authors from all times and places, and on their works. Includes essays from reference works, journals, and books. Content covers numerous centuries, mainly 20th and some 19th.; Full-text
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications.
Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present
Interdisciplinary journal archive of titles in the arts, botany, business, ecology, general science, history, mathematics, and the social sciences. Many journal runs go back to the 19th century and before with subject coverage going back to the medieval period and up to within 3-5 years of current (depending on journal title).; Full-text and full image; Varies by title; current within 3-5 years; Coverage is constantly expanding with the addition of more scholarly journals to the collection. Moving wall publishes to within 3-5 years of most titles that are still in publication.
Resource of journals in humanities, social sciences, & mathematics
Coverage of journal articles in the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.; Full-text; 1993 - present
Historical surveys of field's most important figures, schools, and movements. Also treats figures who did not explicitly deal with, but who still deeply affected, literature, literary theory, or literary criticism, as well as figures and kinds of inquiry from other fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory (e.g. Marx).; Full-text; Most recent edition
Core collection of titles from the Oxford series of reference books
Includes over 120 reference books covering art, the sciences, literature, history, law, the performing arts, religion, computing, economics and business, general reference, and much more.; Full-text; Varies by title, 2002 - present