Humanities Librarian
Marcia Whitehead
Contact:
Boatwright Library
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Subjects: American Studies, Biography, Book Reviews, Citing Sources, Classical Studies, E-Books, English & Literature, First Year Seminar, French, German, Humanities, International Education, Language and Linguistics, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Studies, Master of Liberal Arts, Primary Resources, Reference Sources, Rhetoric & Communication Studies, Richmond Area , Russian, Scholarly Publications, Spanish, Special Topics
Primary Resources
These are databases owned or subscribed to by Boatwright Library which contain full texts.
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans (1639-1800) This link opens in a new windowSearch for books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America during the 17th and 18th centuries. Most subject areas and genres of literature are represented in this collection. It also includes supplemental material from the the Library Company of Philadelphia. (Newsbank/Readex)
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) This link opens in a new windowSearch for books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America during the early 19th century. Most subject areas and genres of literature are represented in this collection. It also includes supplemental material from the the Library Company of Philadelphia. (Newsbank/Readex)
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowAccess books printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1770. Subjects covered include literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, religion, and politics. (ProQuest)
- 18th Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowSearch books, pamphlets, and broadsides published between 1701-1800 in Britain (and its territories), Ireland, and the United States. The database includes materials in a variety of languages (although it's mostly English), and it contains an array of works - from encyclopedias to novels to law books to religious tracts to auction catalogs. (Gale)
- Early American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles published in the US from the colonial period through Reconstruction. This collection was a gift of Edwin S. Snead III, class of 1951. (Newsbank/Readex)
- 19th Century UK Periodicals (Part II: Empire) This link opens in a new windowSearch a collection of periodicals that focus on the role Britain played as an imperial power throughout the 1800s. It contains periodicals from Australia, Canada, Ceylon, India, New Zealand, and South Africa. (Note: We only have access to Part II: Empire). (Gale)
- Black Short Fiction and Folklore This link opens in a new windowAccess stories produced by authors from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present. Find fables, parables, ballads, folk tales, short story cycles, and novellas - each piece of content has fewer than 10,000 words. (ProQuest)
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch an archive of newspapers published in the 1800s by a variety of groups, including political parties, African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, and the Confederacy. This collection includes newspapers from every one of the 50 modern-day US states. (Gale)
Most Useful Databases
These databases are useful for finding articles, essays, and book chapters on language, literature, linguistics, and related topics.
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric/composition, and folklore. (EBSCO)
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowSearch for biographies, overviews, and critical analysis of literary topics, authors, and their works. (Gale)
- Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on topics related to the humanities and social sciences. (EBSCO)
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the humanities. (EBSCO)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the arts, humanities, and social sciences. (Project MUSE)
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for background information on a variety of topics published in the Oxford series of reference books. Find information on topics in the arts, sciences, history, language and literature, and more. (Oxford)
- Short Story Criticism (Literature Criticism Online) This link opens in a new window
Search for literary criticism on short stories. (Gale)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Search an index of journal articles in the arts and humanities. This database is part of the Web of Science platform and can also be used to track, evaluate, and compare journals and articles. Tools included are the number of citations, the journal's impact factor, and other metrics. (Clarivate)
- Short Story Index This link opens in a new window
Search an index of short stories published in collections and anthologies. This link includes both the retrospective database from 1915-1983 and the current content. (EBSCO)
- Essay & General Literature Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Search for essays, articles, and miscellaneous works in anthologies and collections that were published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada on topics in the humanities and social sciences. (EBSCO)
- Gale Literature: Twayne's Author Series This link opens in a new windowAccess critical introductions to the lives and works of writers, to the history and influence of literary movements, and to the development of literary genres. (Gale)
- Gale Literature: Scribner Writer Series This link opens in a new windowAccess biographical and critical essays on the lives and works of important authors from around the world. (Gale)
Searching the MLA Bibliography
Book Reviews
The guide for Book Reviews has many suggestions.