Research Databases
Scholarly Articles
- Disability in the Modern World This link opens in a new windowSearch for primary source materials and videos that cover the community and contributions of people who experience disability. Topics include war and technology, how the media has portrayed the disabled, and the advocacy work of disability rights organizations. (Alexander Street Press)
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. (EBSCO)
- Congressional (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearch for Congressional hearings, reports, testimony, bills, laws, and regulations from the first Congress to the current Congress. (ProQuest)
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer communities. (EBSCO)
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to political science, political theory, political behavior, public policy, law, international relations, comparative politics, and non-governmental organizations. (EBSCO)
- Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Search an index of journal articles in the social sciences. This database is part of the Web of Science platform and can also be used to track, evaluate, and compare journals and articles. Tools included are the number of citations, the journal's impact factor, and other metrics. (Clarivate)
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles, dissertations books, book chapters, and conference papers on sociology and related topics in social and behavioral sciences. (ProQuest)
Videos
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Access a massive collection of streaming videos, including documentaries, interviews, performances, newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage, among others. Most topics are represented in this database. (Alexander Street Press)
- Films On Demand This link opens in a new windowAccess documentaries and other educational videos from a variety of producers, including A&E, PBS, the BBC, National Geographic, HBO Documentary Films, Bill Moyers, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more. (Infobase)
Statistics
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Search for statistics on topics related to American Indians, slavery, poverty, race, ethnicity, migration, health, crime, and more. Each are placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. (Cambridge)
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Access a data and mapping resource that combines demographic, health, employment, and socioeconomic data about communities, census tracts, and other regions within the United States. (PolicyMap)
- Statista This link opens in a new windowSearch for statistics on topics related to business, markets, mass media, technology, and more. The data is compiled from a variety of public and private sources. (Statista)
Journal Search
After clicking on the link above, you can search for disability-related journals in two ways:
1. Use the search bar at the top of the page to find journals by keyword.
2. In the "Journals by Category" list on the left side of the page, click on "Social Sciences", then "Social Welfare & Social Work", and finally "Disabilities". You'll be able to see all journals related to that topic available at Boatwright.
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)