Humanities Librarian
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
Most Popular Dictionaries
You can find dictionaries for use in the library in the reference collection on the first floor. Some dictionaries are also available for checkout in the circulating collection on B2. Here are the call number ranges if you want to browse
English PE 1628
French PC 2640
Italian PC 1625
Spanish PC 4640
German PF 3625
Chinese PL 1455
Japanese PL 678
Greek PA 445
Latin PA 2365
Arabic PJ 6640
Persian PK 6379
Russian PG 2640
English Language Usage Guides
- Guardian and Observer Style GuideBritish usage and and conventions.
- Garner's Modern English UsageReflects the nuances of English usage not only in the United States, but in Australia and New Zealand, the United Kingdom, Canada, and South Africa.
Electronic Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for background information on a variety of topics published in the Oxford series of reference books. Find information on topics in the arts, sciences, history, language and literature, and more. (Oxford)
- Merriam-Webster's American DictionaryAlso has a thesaurus and a Spanish-English dictionary.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Look up the meaning of words in this updated, online version of the Oxford English Dictionary. It's particularly useful when researching the etymology of a word. (Oxford)
- LEOMultilingual German dictionaries
- Deutsche Wörterbuch von Jacob und Wilhelm GrimmThis dictionary was the first major attempt to unify and standardize the German language after Martin Luther's translation of the Bible.
The Routledge Dictionary of Modern American Slang and Unconventional English by ISBN: 9780203895139Publication Date: 2008-07-25
- Thesaurus Linguae Latinae This link opens in a new window
Search for Latin words in this dictionary that covers all the Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D. (De Gruyter)
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
*Create an account to access the full corpus of the database. Access a collection of Greek literature from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Note: The database has been designed as a searchable linguistic database, not a browsable library. (University of California)
- Proto-Indo-European Dictionary-Translator.This is the English version of Academia Prisca's automatic Proto-Indo-European dictionary-translator.
This translator is based on the Late Proto-Indo-European Etymological Lexicon by Fernando López-Menchero: - The American Heritage Dictionary Indo-European Roots AppendixTraces the ultimate Indo-European derivations of those English words that are descended from a selected group of Indo-European roots.