It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books on history, culture, religion, commerce, education, literature, poetry, music, politics, travel etc. from the Colonial period through the early 19th century. Includes the supplemental material from the the Library Company of Philadelphia.
Full-text books, scores, and newspapers; 1639 - 1819
Books from 1801-1819 published in America on the topics of history, culture, religion, commerce, education, literature, poetry, music, politics, travel, etc. Includes the supplemental material from the the Library Company of Philadelphia.
Full-text books, scores, and newspapers; 1801 - 1819
Digital texts of books published in England in several languages between 1701-1800. Coverage from a variety of materials -- including books and broadsides, Bibles, tract books and sermons to printed ephemera -- with works by many well-known and lesser-known authors, women, and collections from the French Revolution.
Collections of 19th century newspapers, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
Periodicals published in Great Britain giving insight into many aspects of the 19th century lifeliterature and culture, empire, feminism, the history of the book, the creative and performing arts, sport and leisure, science and medicine, the professions.
You can also search for "accent tags" on Youtube. There is a specific list of words to read and questions to answer and people from around the country (and world) have recorded themselves to provide examples of their local speech.
The Corpus of Contemporary American English is a large, genre-balanced corpus which can be used to accurately track and study recent changes in the language. The 400 million words corpus is evenly divided between spoken, fiction, popular magazines, newspapers, and academic journals.
The Indo-European Lexicon (IELEX) presents a freely available etymological database in which users can explore the relations within and among languages, ancient and modern, in the Indo-European family of languages.