It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications.
Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present
Interdisciplinary journal archive of titles in the arts, botany, business, ecology, general science, history, mathematics, and the social sciences. Many journal runs go back to the 19th century and before with subject coverage going back to the medieval period and up to within 3-5 years of current (depending on journal title).; Full-text and full image; Varies by title; current within 3-5 years; Coverage is constantly expanding with the addition of more scholarly journals to the collection. Moving wall publishes to within 3-5 years of most titles that are still in publication.
LOCATING articles through OneSearch
The library's OneSearch allows you to:
identify which journal titles are available at UR
identify which titles are in print or can be accessed as e-journals
access the e-journals through UR subscription links *
connect to the catalog to find "holdings" information for print titles (which volumes/years that UR owns)
find UR journals by subject
* Most UR subscriptions can be accessed directly from the database citation. However, if there is no direct link from the citation to the journal article, go to the journal's website only through OneSearch. Most subscriptions are also verified by IP identification - you must access UR e-journals from the campus network or through the proxy server.
Some publishers "embargo" their most recent issues so that you may only be able to electronically access articles published 1-2 years earlier.
ACCESSING articles in the Washington Post
Newspaper articles are often difficult to access through institutional subscriptions and -- unfortunately -- the Washington Post is no exception.
The law school library provides us with unlimited access to the Postbut ... You must either be on the UR campus or using the VPN to access articles in it.
Use this link for access to the Post through the law school library. Or the link below will also take you to the same page.
Information on installing and using the university's VPN can be found at this link.
Comprehensive reference database covering life sciences journal literature.
Includes abstracts from peer-reviewed academic journal articles in the fields of biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, pre-clinical and experimental medicine, pharmacology, zoology, agriculture, and veterinary medicine.; Citations and abstracts; 1985 - present
Using Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
If UR does not provide access to a journal and you need an article from it, use Interlibrary Loan to request it from another library. Depending on how long it takes for the loaning library to fill the request, it may be only a few days before the article arrives. It will be emailed to you as a .pdf file.