Suggested databases for getting started in IDENTIFYING articles
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles from hundreds of national and regional newspapers, as well as transcripts of television and radio news. (EBSCO)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
LOCATING articles through OneSearch
The library's OneSearch allows you to:
- identify which journal titles are available at UR
- identify which titles are in print or can be accessed as e-journals
- access the e-journals through UR subscription links *
- connect to the catalog to find "holdings" information for print titles (which volumes/years that UR owns)
- find UR journals by subject
* Most UR subscriptions can be accessed directly from the database citation. However, if there is no direct link from the citation to the journal article, go to the journal's website only through OneSearch. Most subscriptions are also verified by IP identification - you must access UR e-journals from the campus network or through the proxy server.
Some publishers "embargo" their most recent issues so that you may only be able to electronically access articles published 1-2 years earlier.
ACCESSING articles in the Washington Post
Newspaper articles are often difficult to access through institutional subscriptions and -- unfortunately -- the Washington Post is no exception.
The law school library provides us with unlimited access to the Post but ...
You must either be on the UR campus or using the VPN to access articles in it.
Use this link for access to the Post through the law school library. Or the link below will also take you to the same page.
Information on installing and using the university's VPN can be found at this link.
- Washington Post (Website) This link opens in a new window
*Follow these instructions to create an account with your Richmond email address. Read articles published on Washingonpost.com. You must both verify your email address and activate your subscription after creating your account. If you do not see your account name, try disabling all ad blockers in your browser. Note: Web-only content is not linked in OneSearch. You must access the website directly for those articles. (Washington Post)
A few specialized databases in science
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and more. (EBSCO)
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on various topics connected with agriculture, climate change, energy, the environment, natural resources, toxic waste, and sustainability. This database includes both AGRICOLA and TOXLINE as sub-databases. (ProQuest)
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search across Biological Abstracts, Medline, Preprint Citation Index, PQ Dissertations and Theses, Web of Science Core (Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index), and Zoological Record. Track, evaluate, and compare journals and articles. Tools included are the number of citations, the journal's impact factor, and other metrics. (Clarivate)
- Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Search an index of journal articles in the life sciences. This database is part of the Web of Science platform and can also be used to track, evaluate, and compare journals and articles. Tools included are the number of citations, the journal's impact factor, and other metrics. (Clarivate)
Using Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
If UR does not provide access to a journal and you need an article from it, use Interlibrary Loan to request it from another library. Depending on how long it takes for the loaning library to fill the request, it may be only a few days before the article arrives. It will be emailed to you as a .pdf file.