Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FYS 100 (27): Shapes of Desire: Love Poetry: Finding Books and Journal Articles

Sources of Articles in Journals and Encyclopedias

WAYS TO SEARCH

How do I use the library catalog?

There are several paths:

Select the “Books and More” tab on the search box on the libraries main page.

 

There is also a “Books and More” link under Quick Links.

If you are already engaged in OneSearch, you can choose Books, Audio, or Video from the Item Type dropdown box beneath the search box.

How do I search by title in OneSearch?

If you know the exact title of an item, you can type the title in the Simple Search box.

If you only know some words in the title, go to Advanced Search and use the left-side pull down and select “in the title”.

 

How do I search by author in OneSearch?

Go to Advanced Search and the use the same pull down box and select “as author/creator”. 

The order in which you type the parts of a name does not matter. For example, Studs Terkel and Terkel, Studs will produce the same results.

 

How do I refine my search in OneSearch?

After completing a search, use the options on the left-side. You can refine by a number of options, such as Full Text Online, Available in Library, Author/Creator, Subject/Topic, Resource Type, and more.

 

 

How do I limit my search in OneSearch to a particular format like films or sound recordings?

 

Go to Advanced Search, and use the Material Type pull-down.

 

Is there a filter for E-books?

Not currently, but you can search for e-books by selecting "Books" as the material type and limiting the search to "Full-Text Online".

 

 

Why should I sign into OneSearch?

Click Sign In in the upper right corner of the OneSearch page, enter your UR Netid and password when prompted, and click Login.

When you sign into OneSearch, you can:

Access articles and data from electronic resources licensed by the University Libraries and indexed in OneSearch.

Set your preferences so that they reflect the way you usually search, and save them for future sessions.

Save your searches

Save items to your Favorites

Set up alerts for new items that meet your saved search criteria

Request items from the Libraries’ collections

How do I print or save records from OneSearch?

From the results list, use the pin icon to save an item to your Favorites. If you are not signed in, this option is temporary and items will disappear from the Favorites area when you close your browser. 

In OneSearch you also have the option to add an item to your Favorites or to E-mail, Print, or export a record.

After searching OneSearch, you can click the title of any record in your results list

Click on the 'Send to' link in the right corner of the record.

What is the difference between Simple Search and Advanced Search in Onesearch?

Simple Search on the library’s main page allows for keyword searching. You can limit a search to a particular phrase by putting the phrase in quotation marks (e.g. “global warming”). You can also use AND, OR, NOT operators (e.g. cardinals AND baseball); you must use ALL CAPS. By using the gear tool at the right end of the search box, you can also add limits to the types of material to be searched.

Advanced Search allows you to limit your search to Title, Author/Creator, Subject, or Tag. You can also specify “contains” “starts with” or “is (exact).” Specific dates and languages can be selected. Resource type will limit your search to a specific format or material type, such as Book or Video/Film.

How can I see what material I have checked out?

Sign in and click on the down arrow next to your name to see your loans, requests and favorites.

How can I save my search results?

            Sign in and click the little pin icon to save any record you are viewing. If you are viewing a list of items, you can save individual titles by clicking the pin icon to the right, or you can click the boxes to the right of several items and save them all at once.

            How can I get a list of authors with the same name or titles that begin with the same word(s)?

            Among the options at the very top of the page is Browse. Click on it and choose the type of browse list you want: author, title, call number, or subject. 

How can I find books on the same topic as the one I already have (or know about)?

There are a couple of ways. If you know the title or author of one book, find the record in the catalog and click on one or more of the subject headings assigned to that item (this works for articles, too). Or you can do a virtual browse. Among the options at the very top of the page is Browse. Click on it and choose the type of browse list you want: author, title, call number, or subject.

 

Getting the Full Text of Articles

If the full-text of an article is not available in the database you are searching, look for a "Locate it" button, which will link you to either the journal in which the article is published or to the article itself.

If there is no button, use the Journal Titles tab in the red search box at the top of the main library web page to search for the title of the journal, or use the link below.  If we have a subscription, you will learn what years are available and in what database.  Some or all years of a journal may be available only in physical form in the periodicals collection on B2.

For other journals we may have limited access, for example, not the most recent issues or not the earliest published issues. If we do not have access to the issue you need, use  ILLiad, our interlibrary loan system.

 

More Tips for Finding Books

To search for books in Boatwright, use the Library Catalog . When dealing with a topic that can be used in many fields it is best to add a second word that describes your area of interest,  for example, "sex" and "poetry".  Start with a keyword search and when you have found one or two relevant books, examine their subjects headings to help guide further searching,   Remember that books are generally on broad topics and that you are not searching the full text, only the titles, subject headings, and--if you're lucky--the table of contents.

If you are looking for information on a person, you should first use that person's name in a keyword search.  However, many books will have information on persons that is not evident from the information in the catalog.  To find these books, look for books on the area of endeavor or historical events in which your person of interest was involved.

To search for books that are at other libraries, but not necessarily at UR, use WorldCat, which includes books we can borrow for you if we don't have them.

To identify useful ebooks books by searching their full texts, use OneSearch and limit your search to book/ebook Content Type (in lefthand bar). Unlike the catalog, OneSearch can search the full-text of our electronic books.

Libguides Menu

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.