Business Librarian
Searching for HBS Cases in BSC
While HBS Cases are searchable in Business Source Complete from 1942-present by company name and subject, the text of the case is not available. To search for cases related to a specific topic, simply enter “Harvard Business School Cases” into the search box and select “SO Publication Name” in the “Select a Field box”; enter the topic or company you are interested in in the second box and click "Search".
You can purchase Harvard Business Cases here: https://store.hbr.org/case-studies/
Case Databases
- SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new windowCases in this database cover topics such as Management, HR, Accounting, Operations, International Business and Business Ethics and Corporate Social Responsibility. Email Carrie for access to teaching notes.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowCheck the "Case Study" box under the "Limit your results" header.
- eMarketer This link opens in a new windowThe reports in the Insider Intelligence database are not traditional teaching cases, but do tend to highlight technology and/or new market challenges and solutions.
Journals
Many scholarly journals publish cases regularly in their issues; this list is just a small sample.
- FT CasesCases include questions and related articles at the end.
Books
Cases in Entrepreneurship and Small Business Management by Call Number: HD62.7 .S27 2005ISBN: 9780131542723Publication Date: 2004-12-13
Cases in Entrepreneurship by Call Number: HD62.5 .C375 2006ISBN: 1412909767Publication Date: 2005-07-15
Working Capital Management by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781118933831Publication Date: 2014-08-25The final chapter of this ebook contains 6 cases around the topic of working capital management.
Video Case Studies
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy contains a broad array of resources, including case studies of Starbucks, Tesco, and other companies, as well as documentaries and educational films.
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Access a massive collection of streaming videos, including documentaries, interviews, performances, newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage, among others. Most topics are represented in this database. (Alexander Street Press)
Business Ethics Cases
The Markulla Center for Applied Ethics at Santa Clara University makes a number of cases relating to business ethics available on their website.
- Business Ethics Cases"Find ethics case studies on bribery, sourcing, intellectual property, downsizing, and other topics in business ethics, corporate governance, and ethical leadership."