UR Collections
- African Americans and Jim Crow, 1883-1922 This link opens in a new window
Search an archive of thousands of fully searchable printed works from the beginning of Jim Crow to post-World War I. These works provide insights into African American culture and life during this period of segregation and disenfranchisement and include such topics as African American identity, relationships with peoples of other nations, and literature. (Newsbank/Readex)
- African Americans and Reconstruction, 1865-1883 This link opens in a new windowSearch an archive of thousands of printed works from the end of the Civil War to the beginning of Jim Crow. It includes documents related to African Americans and citizenship, voting rights, literacy, land rights, and employment. (Newsbank/Readex)
- AIDS Crisis Response: Records of the National Commission on AIDS, 1983-1994 This link opens in a new window
The National Commission on AIDS was an independent body created in 1989 to advise Congress and the President on the development of a "consistent national policy" concerning the HIV epidemic. This database contains records connected to their work, including briefing books, hearing and meeting transcripts, reports, and press clippings. (Gale)
- Archival Resources of the Virginias (ARVAS) This link opens in a new window
Search for information on archival materials housed in historical societies, libraries, museums, colleges, and universities across Virginia and West Virginia. The online finding aids help researchers discover primary source materials that document the history, culture, and people of these two states. (ARVAS)
- Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new window
Search for primary source documents on history, culture, peoples, and societies of Latin American and the Caribbean. Documents include original manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, and ephemera. (Gale)
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window
Search for primary sources on the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. The content dates from the sixteenth century to the present. (Gale)
- Black Short Fiction and Folklore This link opens in a new windowAccess stories produced by authors from Africa and the African Diaspora from the earliest times to the present. Find fables, parables, ballads, folk tales, short story cycles, and novellas - each piece of content has fewer than 10,000 words. (ProQuest)
- Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new windowSearch a collection of nonfiction writings by major American Black leaders, including books, letters, speeches, essays, interviews, and political leaflets. Researchers can study the historical development of Black culture by examining the ideas of one individual over time or compare the thinking of various figures on a given topic. (Alexander Street Press)
- Colonial State Papers This link opens in a new windowSearch thousands of hand-written primary source documents and indexes that document colonial history from the earliest English settlements in North America, piracy in the Atlantic and Caribbean, slave trade, and English conflicts with the Spanish and the French. (ProQuest)
- FBI Files (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Under the leadership of J. Edgar Hoover, the FBI vigorously investigated and tracked the activities of communist groups, civil rights organizations, and Native Americans in the United States. Explore the archives and find files on Albert Einstein, Alger Hiss, Julius & Ethel Rosenberg, Whittaker Chambers, Freedom Riders, Howard Hughes, HUAC, Martin Luther King, Jr., Abbie Hoffman, Cesar Chavez, Weatherman, Malcolm X, NAACP, SNCC, SCLC, the American Indian Movement and many more. Also included are files on the Watergate scandal. (Gale)
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer communities. (EBSCO)
- Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice This link opens in a new windowSearch for primary sources that focus on the varieties of slavery (urban, domestic, industrial, farm, ranch, and plantation), the legacies of slavery, the social justice perspective, and the continued existence of slavery in the twentieth century. Documents include manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings and maps. (AM)
- Southern Negro Youth Congress and the Communist Party: Papers of James and Esther Cooper Jackson This link opens in a new window
Search the papers of James E. and Esther Cooper Jackson, who are best known for their role in founding and leading the Southern Negro Youth Congress from 1937-1948. (Gale)
- Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new window
Search for primary source documents focusing on the evolution of feminism and political activism in the 19th and 20th centuries. Topics covered include suffrage, abolition of slavery, alcohol and temperance movements, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, socialism, and more. Also included is a collection that focuses on "female forerunners," women who broke new paths in society through business, social reform, popular culture, health care, and more. (Gale)
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from journals that publish feminist research in areas of sociology, history, political science, public policy, international relations, arts and humanities, business, and education. (EBSCO)
- 17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of British newspapers and pamphlets gathered by Rev. Charles Burney (1757-1817), which helps chart the development of the newspaper from published transcripts to coffee house newsbooks to the newspaper as we know it today. (Gale)
- 18th Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowSearch books, pamphlets, and broadsides published between 1701-1800 in Britain (and its territories), Ireland, and the United States. The database includes materials in a variety of languages (although it's mostly English), and it contains an array of works - from encyclopedias to novels to law books to religious tracts to auction catalogs. (Gale)
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch an archive of newspapers published in the 1800s by a variety of groups, including political parties, African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, and the Confederacy. This collection includes newspapers from every one of the 50 modern-day US states. (Gale)
- Access World News (Historical and Current) This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from thousands of US and global news sources. It includes some audio and video news sources, as well as traditional newspapers. (Newsbank/Readex)
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from US newspapers that chronicle 150 years of the African American experience, including the Antebellum South, growth of the Black church, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, the Harlem Renaissance, the Civil Rights movement, and more. Note: UR has access to Series 1 only. (Newsbank/Readex)
- Early American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles published in the US from the colonial period through Reconstruction. This collection was a gift of Edwin S. Snead III, class of 1951. (Newsbank/Readex)
- Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from 7 national papers (Atlanta Constitution, Barron's, Christian Science Monitor, LA Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post) and 13 historically Black papers (Atlanta Daily World, Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Cleveland Call and Post, Kansas City Call, Los Angeles Sentinel, Louisville Defender, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier and St. Louis American). Full-text dates vary for each newspaper. (ProQuest)
- International Newsstream This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from news sources outside of the US and Canada, such as newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites. (ProQuest)
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles and legal materials such as court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more. (Lexis-Nexis)
GIS / Map-Based Statistical Databases
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Access a data and mapping resource that combines demographic, health, employment, and socioeconomic data about communities, census tracts, and other regions within the United States. (PolicyMap)
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Create reports and maps based on US Census data and demographic information. Create an account on the site to save your maps. (Social Explorer)
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Access business, consumer, and market data from a variety of sources, including Neilsen, Simmons, and the Census Bureau. Using this data, you can build reports, export data, and create maps. Choose "Sign in as a guest" or create a personal account in order to save your work. Note: Only 10 users may access this database at one time. (SimplyAnalytics)
Other Statistics Databases
- Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS) This link opens in a new window
Access country, industry and company data and analysis from more than 500 sources for emerging markets in Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and the Middle East. The database includes country profiles; macroeconomic statistics, forecasts, and analysis; exchange rates; analyst reports; and business news. Note: Only 2 users may access this database at one time. (ISI Emerging Markets Group)
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Search for statistics on topics related to American Indians, slavery, poverty, race, ethnicity, migration, health, crime, and more. Each are placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. (Cambridge)
- Statista This link opens in a new windowSearch for statistics on topics related to business, markets, mass media, technology, and more. The data is compiled from a variety of public and private sources. (Statista)
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearch for statistics in this yearly publication that illuminate the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. The data covers the years 1878-2012 and has been compiled from a variety of public and private sources. (ProQuest)
- National Center for Education StatisticsPrimary collector and analyzer of education-related data within the federal government; most comprehensive portal for education statistics on the Web.
- IPUMSAccess to historic and current census/survey data, with built-in online analysis tools and a commitment to harmonize variable codes, making it easier to compare data sets across multiple years.
- ICPSRICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 350,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 23 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Access a massive collection of streaming videos, including documentaries, interviews, performances, newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage, among others. Most topics are represented in this database. (Alexander Street Press)
- HistoryMakers Video Archive This link opens in a new windowWatch videos of thousands of oral history interviews that highlight the accomplishments of individual African Americans and African-American-led groups and movements. (HistoryMakers)
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowSearch this streaming video collection of documentaries, educational films, classic Hollywood movies, and world cinema. Note: Not all Kanopy films are immediately available for streaming. For any that are unavailable, please fill out the request form in Kanopy with as much information as possible to convey your teaching or research needs. The library will only unlock videos used for courses and assignments. (OverDrive)
Need help? Chat with a Librarian
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)