Humanities Librarian
Marcia Whitehead
Contact:
Boatwright Library
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Subjects: American Studies, Biography, Book Reviews, Citing Sources, Classical Studies, E-Books, English & Literature, First Year Seminar, French, German, Humanities, International Education, Language and Linguistics, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Studies, Master of Liberal Arts, Primary Resources, Reference Sources, Rhetoric & Communication Studies, Richmond Area , Russian, Scholarly Publications, Spanish, Special Topics
LLC 335: Bolsheviks, Bombs, and Ballet
Welcome
The first step in a successful research project is to find a topic that inspires you. Among the places to look for inspiration are general reference sources like the encyclopedias.
Encyclopedias on Russia and the Soviet Union
Electronic Encyclopedias
These cover a wide range of topics associated with Soviet and Russian history and culture.
- eBook Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks that provide a broad overview of many topics. The database includes mostly reference works, such as encyclopedias, almanacs, yearbooks, handbooks, and more. (Gale)
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new windowSearch this encyclopedia for background information on most aspects of the visual arts (painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography) from prehistory to the present. (Oxford)
- Grove Music Online This link opens in a new windowSearch this encyclopedia for background information on all genres of music and musicians (best for classical and jazz). The database does include dictionaries like The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, among others. (Oxford)
