Skip to main content

History 400 - Research Seminar: American Women (Yellin): Home

Course guide to support Dr. Yellin's research seminar on American Women.

Quick Introduction to OneSearch

LibGuides Menu

Welcome

The purpose of this guide is to help you identify and obtain library research materials on the  History Research Seminar 400 -"American Women." 

Please use the tabs to explore different types of resources and contact me if you need assistance.

In this senior seminar, students will pursue original research projects that examine major social, economic, political, and cultural developments in American women’s history.  How have ideas about womanhood, gender, sexuality, race, and class shaped the experiences of American women in the United States? How do we use historical methods to tell the stories of women’s lives, their intellectual and cultural production, and their participation in social movements? The course is part of an Associated Colleges of the South grant program to support research about women at southern liberal arts colleges, so students will be given the opportunity to dig into historical materials related to women at UR. 

 

Tips for Library Research

1.   History Research should begin at the library web site found at http://library.richmond.edu/ and follow the link to Research Guides by Subject/Major.  Choose History and then choose the Course-Specific Guides or individual databases and web sites appropriate to your topic.  For classical history, go to the Classical Studies Subject/Major page.  You can access other subject areas, e.g., Art, Anthropology, Literature, Political Science, Women studies etc, when appropriate to your research.

2.   The research process will involve using many different kinds of resources.  Keeping a log of which online resources, books, journals, media, interlibrary loan materials, and manuscripts that were used will help you keep track of your research for creating footnotes and bibliography.
 

3.   Catalogs, like the UR Library Catalog/OneSearch and WorldCat are your best sources for books, primary sources, bibliographies, and reference works.  To find journal or newspaper articles you will need to use online indexes and full-text databases.

4.   A good book or journal article can be a bridge to more primary research sources if it has footnotes or a bibliography.  Even books and articles in languages you do not read may list sources in languages you do read.

5.  Where available, use browse features of databases to discover subject headings used, because the same topic may have been assigned different subject headings over time.

6.   Keep in mind that many useful resources, and not just primary sources, are print works, and not electronic or Internet resources.  The Research Guides by Subject/Major library web page, focus primarily on electronic resources. 

7.  If you can’t find what you need, please email your History Liaison librarian, Lynda Kachurek at  lkachure@richmond.edu.

Head, Rare Books & Special Collections; History Librarian

Lynda Kachurek's picture
Lynda Kachurek
Contact:
Boatwright Library

804-289-8458
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.