Online Resources

Search for older magazine articles with this database, which indexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. (EBSCO)

Search for articles from US newspapers that chronicle 150 years of the African American experience, including the Antebellum South, growth of the Black church, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, the Harlem Renaissance, the Civil Rights movement, and more. Note: UR has access to Series 1 only. (Newsbank/Readex)

Search for articles from a collection of periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society that documents the life of people in the United States from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. Note: The series included in this collection are Series 1 (1691-1820), Series 2 (1821-1837), Series 3 (1838-1852), Series 4 (1853-1865), and Series 5 (1866-1877). (EBSCO)

Search for primary sources on the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. The content dates from the sixteenth century to the present. (Gale)

Search for articles from historical women's periodicals published from the late 18th century to the early 1930s. Some of the titles were conceived and published by men, for women; others were conceived and published by male editors with strong input from female assistant editors or managers; while others were conceived and published by women, for women. These periodicals illuminate the lives of women, the role of women in society, and the development of the public lives of women as the push for women's rights—woman suffrage, fair pay, better working conditions—grew in the United States and England. (Gale)

Search for primary source documents focusing on the evolution of feminism and political activism in the 19th and 20th centuries. Topics covered include suffrage, abolition of slavery, alcohol and temperance movements, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, socialism, and more. Also included is a collection that focuses on "female forerunners," women who broke new paths in society through business, social reform, popular culture, health care, and more. (Gale)

Search for primary source documents that illuminate the broad scope of British women's activities during World War I. The database includes materials from the Imperial War Museum in London, such as charity and international relief reports, pamphlets, photographs, press cuttings, magazines, posters, correspondence, minutes, records, diaries, memoranda, statistics, circulars, regulations and invitations, and interpretative essays from leading scholars. (Gale)

Search for information on archival materials housed in historical societies, libraries, museums, colleges, and universities across Virginia and West Virginia. The online finding aids help researchers discover primary source materials that document the history, culture, and people of these two states. (ARVAS)

Search large-scale plans of Virginia cities and towns, created to assist fire insurance companies assess the risk associated with insuring a particular property. Map information includes data such as the outline of each building, the size, shape, and construction materials, heights and function of structures, and location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house numbers. (ProQuest)

Create reports and maps based on US Census data and demographic information. Create an account on the site to save your maps. (Social Explorer)

Search for statistics on topics related to American Indians, slavery, poverty, race, ethnicity, migration, health, crime, and more. Each are placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. (Cambridge)