Humanities Librarian
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
LibGuides Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
HUM 398: History of Human Expression
Finding Books and Videos in the Library Catalog
How do I use the library catalog?
There are several paths:
- Select the “Books and More” tab on the search box on the libraries main page.
2. There is also a “Books and More” link under Quick Links.
3. If you are already engaged in OneSearch, you can choose Books, Audio, or Video from the Item Type dropdown box beneath the search box.
How do I limit my search in OneSearch to a particular format like films or sound recordings?
Go to Advanced Search, and use the Material Type pull-down.
How do I refine my search in OneSearch?
After completing a search, use the options on the left-side. You can refine by a number of options, such as Full Text Online, Available in Library, Author/Creator, Subject/Topic, Resource Type, and more.
Basic Library Tools
- Books and MoreThis is where you will go to locate books, documents, and audio-visual materials owned by the libraries at the University of Richmond.
Clicking on the title of a book from the list of results displays the details about the title, it location, its availability, the subject headings assigned to it, and often its contents.
Depending on the type of material, you may need to use the location and call number information to find the material on the shelf in the library, or, if it is an online resource, click on the link to the full text.
You also have options to email, save to a citation database format, or add to a list of saved titles in in your account (you'll have to sign in to do this). Simply click on the available links.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
- Journal TitlesList of journal TITLES -- if we subscribe to it, how to access it (in print or online), and what years are available.
- Interlibrary LoanUse our interlibrary loan service to request books and articles not available at UR.
Getting the Full Text of Articles
If the full-text of an article is not available in the database you are searching, look for a "Locate it" button, which will link you to either the journal in which the article is published or to the article itself.
If there is no button, use the Journal Titles tab in the red search box at the top of the main library web page to search for the title of the journal, or use the link below. If we have a subscription, you will learn what years are available and in what database. Some or all years of a journal may be available only in physical form in the periodicals collection on B2.
For other journals we may have limited access, for example, not the most recent issues or not the earliest published issues. If we do not have access to the issue you need, use ILLiad, our interlibrary loan system.