Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
Cultural Resources
Country Backgrounds & Profiles
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
- CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Access reports on each of the world’s countries, with a focus on the political and economic situation as well as demographic, cultural and environmental news and information. (CountryWatch)
- World FactbookBrief profile and statistics of every country in the world collected by the CIA.
- Library of Congress Country StudiesContains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world.
- World Bank Databases This link opens in a new window
Explore different databases maintained by the World Bank, including the World Development Indicators (WDI) and the Global Economic Monitor (GEM). (World Bank)
- Passport GMID This link opens in a new window
Access key business intelligence on countries, markets, and companies. This database provides historical statistics and forecasts, analysis of consumers' lifestyles, information sources, brand and company information, plus full-text market analysis. (Euromonitor International)
Elections/Democracy
- ElectionGuideFocuses on current elections, but includes previous elections back to 1998. Developed by a non-profit International Foundation for Election Systems (IFES), the world's premiere election assistance organization.
- International Voter Turnout - IDEAMost comprehensive global collection of political participation statistics available, covers presidential & parliamentary elections, numbers of registered voters and information of false ballots.
- Freedom HouseProvides scores, reports and statistics covering democracy and freedom across the world. There are reports on civil liberties, political rights, freedom of speech, freedom of press, and countries transitioning to democracy.
- Fragile States Index - Fund for PeaceRanks the level of political stability in every country in the world.
