Development Project Resources
Development Project Resources (Fall 2021)
This page contains library and other resources to help you complete your research for the Development Project. Use the links below or scroll to navigate. If you need help, feel free to contact librarian Samantha Guss (contact info is below)!
Librarian
Choosing countries
- World Bank Country and Lending GroupsCharts defining low-income, lower middle-income, upper middle-income, and high-income economies by region for the 2022 fiscal year.
Country Background Information
- CountryWatch This link opens in a new windowCovers historical, economic, environmental, political, investment, news, statistical and background information on each of the world's countries. ***CLICK ON "Intelligence Zone" at the top, then try Country Reviews, Country Briefings, or Country Forecast.***
- World FactbookBrief profile and statistics of every country in the world collected by the CIA.
Indicators Data
- Fragile States Index - Fund for PeaceRanks the level of political stability in every country in the world.
- Human Development Data Center (UN Development Programme)Data from the UN Human Development Report, including Human Development Index (HDI) ranking.
- Corruption Perceptions Index (CPI) - Transparency InternationalRanking of the levels of corruption in 180 countries determined by experts and surveys.
- Country Comparisons Data - CIA World FactbookRanked CIA World Factbook data on lots of indicators, including the Gini Index coefficient distribution of family income.
- World Health Organization Data & StatisticsAccess to a variety of databases on international health indicators, diseases, health and country health profiles.
- Freedom HouseProvides scores, reports and statistics covering democracy and freedom across the world. There are reports on civil liberties, political rights, freedom of speech, freedom of press, and countries transitioning to democracy.
- World Bank Databases This link opens in a new window
Explore different databases maintained by the World Bank, including the World Development Indicators (WDI) and the Global Economic Monitor (GEM). (World Bank)
IGO/NGO Resources
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles, reports, and grey literature on topics related to the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. "PAIS" stands for "Public Affairs Information Service," and the content dates from the early 1900s-present. (ProQuest)
- CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks, journal articles, policy briefs, reports, and case studies on topics related to international politics and policy. The content is written by scholars, research institutes, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and think-tanks. (Columbia University Press)
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowSearch for information on public policy issues from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers, including the Hoover Institution, International Monetary Fund, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, RAND Corporation, and the World Bank. (ProQuest)
These IGO and NGO Search Engines are custom Google searches that search the content of IGO and NGO websites. They are maintained by librarians in the American Library Association's Government Documents Roundtable (GODORT).
Non-governmental Organization (NGO) Search Engine
Climate Change
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and more. (EBSCO)
- Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new windowSearch for case studies, journal articles, news, and videos in the areas of sustainability, policy, and environmental studies. (Gale)
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to humans' impact on the environment, such as global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. (EBSCO)
Education/Human Development
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to education, including all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. (EBSCO)
- ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the US Department of Education, this database contains journal articles, books, research reports, teaching, and more on the topic of education research and resources. Note: An open-access version is available online for anyone to use. (EBSCO)
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles, reports, and grey literature on topics related to the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. "PAIS" stands for "Public Affairs Information Service," and the content dates from the early 1900s-present. (ProQuest)
Global Economic Integration
- EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles in all fields of economics, including the American Economic Association journals, working papers, and many non-English full-text journals in economics and finance. (EBSCO)
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to business. Also included is some financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more. (EBSCO)
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles, reports, and grey literature on topics related to the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. "PAIS" stands for "Public Affairs Information Service," and the content dates from the early 1900s-present. (ProQuest)
The Oxford Handbook of the Political Economy of International Trade by ISBN: 9780199981755Publication Date: 2015
Health & Health Care
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles in this open access database maintained by the US National Library of Medicine (NLM). The content covers subjects that range from biomedicine and health fields to related disciplines such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. (US Government)
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles, reports, and grey literature on topics related to the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. "PAIS" stands for "Public Affairs Information Service," and the content dates from the early 1900s-present. (ProQuest)
- World Health Organization (WHO)Arm of the UN focusing on international health policy, health monitoring and health-improvement programs throughout the world.
