Finding Articles
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowSearch for literature reviews that capture current understandings of topics, including what is well-supported and what is controversial. These articles also set the topic in historical context, highlight the direction of future research, and outline the general significance of the research to society. Subjects are wide-ranging from the science to law to social sciences to politics. (Annual Reviews)
- Medline This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to biology, medicine, and psychology. (Clarivate)
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles and books on topics related to psychology. (APA)
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association and other allied organizations. (EBSCO)
- APA Databases Methodology Field ValuesDefinitions for each of the methodology fields that can be searched for/filtered in the PsycINFO platforms (including PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS)
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to psychology, including emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, mental processes, anthropology, observational and experimental methods, and more. (EBSCO)
- PubMedPubMed is the Medline database made available for free to the public by the National Library of Medicine (National Institutes of Health). It is the same database as UR's Medline - simply mounted on a different platform.
- Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new windowSearch an index of journal articles in the social sciences. This database is part of the Web of Science platform and can also be used to track, evaluate, and compare journals and articles. Tools included are the number of citations, the journal's impact factor, and other metrics. (Clarivate)
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from journals specializing in sociology and related topics, including abortion, criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, substance abuse and other addictions, violence, and more. (EBSCO)
Browse Psychology Journals
- The link below, from the library's main Journal Search page, will show all psychology journals available through UR, including their date range, if they're accessible online or physically on campus at UR, and if they're peer-reviewed:
Key Psychology Journals
- Annual Review of Psychology
- Peer-reviewed, coverage from 1950 - 2005 and from 2023 - present
- Frontiers in Psychology
- Peer-reviewed, coverage from 2010 - present
- Personnel Psychology
- Peer-reviewed, coverage from 1965 - present
- Journal of Applied Psychology
- Peer-reviewed, coverage from 1917 - present
- Clinical Psychology Review
- Peer-reviewed, coverage from 1995 - present
- Current Directions in Psychological Science
- Peer-reviewed, coverage from 1992 - present
- Health Psychology
- Peer-reviewed, coverage from 1982 - present
- Journal of Health Psychology
- Peer-reviewed, coverage from 1996 - 1998 and 1999 - present
Use the following steps to find items you can't access in full through UR Libraries
- Search for your article title in Google Scholar to see if a full-text version is available
- If you find your article, double-check that it has the correct citation information (journal title, author(s), volume/issue number, etc.)
- You can request journal articles (and other resources) from other institutions using UR's interlibrary loan service
- The service is 100% free, though it may take a few days for your items to arrive
- Click here to activate your account or log in to the ILL system
- Questions? Contact our ILL department at ill@richmond.edu
PsycINFO Tutorial
View additional PsycINFO database training videos by accessing their YouTube channel here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l-hNAOhL5Xw&list=PL6484660AF7DC62BD
Online Resources
- Repository & Open Science Access Portal (ROSA-P)Provided by the United States Department of Transportation, ROSA-P is a collection of open-access research into transportation and transportation related subjects.
Need help? Chat with a Librarian
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)