Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Boatwright Memorial Library

MATHEMATICS RESEARCH GUIDE: Home

LibGuides Menu

Library databases for mathematics


Use online databases to locate references to journal articles, book chapters, books, and more.  Most online databases provide abstracts but many will also link you to full-text resources.  Use Journal Titles to determine which journal titles you may access at UR. 

Background information & key reference works in mathematics

Use encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks to obtain an overview of your subject, an understanding of basic concepts, a summary of key issues, definitions, and data.  Encyclopedia articles frequently include bibliographies and may refer you to other entries on related topics. 

  • AccessScience (the online edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology)
         REF Q121 .M3 2007
  • CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics
         REF QA5 .W45 1999
  • CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae
         REF QA47 .M315 2003
  • Encyclopedia of Mathematics
        
  • Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences
         REF QA276.14 .E5 1982
  • Facts on File Dictionary of Mathematics
         REF QA .F35 1999
  • Handbook of Mathematical Functions
         QA47 .A34 1972
  • Mathematically Speaking: A Dictionary of Quotations
         e-book and REF QA99 .M363 1998
  • McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms  *
         REF Q123 .M34 2003
  • Notable Mathematicians
         REF QA28 .N66 1998
  • Oxford Reference Online (The Consise Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics & The Dictionary of Statistics)
  • Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia
         REF Q121 .V3 2008

     *  Also available in Science Reading Room, Gottwald

Social Sciences Librarian

Profile Photo
Samantha Guss
she/her
Contact:
Office: 182 Boatwright Library,
Research & Collaborative Area
Email: sguss@richmond.edu
Phone: 804-289-8851
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.