Humanities Librarian
Marcia Whitehead
Contact:
Boatwright Library
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Subjects: American Studies, Biography, Book Reviews, Citing Sources, Classical Studies, E-Books, English & Literature, First Year Seminar, French, German, Humanities, International Education, Language and Linguistics, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Studies, Master of Liberal Arts, Primary Resources, Reference Sources, Rhetoric & Communication Studies, Richmond Area , Russian, Scholarly Publications, Spanish, Special Topics
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
German 497: Kafka's World
Useful Encyclopedia and Dictionaries
A Franz Kafka Encyclopedia by ISBN: 9780313061424Publication Date: 2005-08-30Most of the entries cite works for further reading, and the Encyclopedia closes with a selected, general bibliography.
A Companion to Nineteenth-Century Europe, 1789-1914 by ISBN: 1280285982Publication Date: 2008-01-01This "Companion" provides an overview of European history during the 'long' nineteenth century, from 1789 to 1914.
A Companion to Europe 1900-1945 by ISBN: 1280237236Publication Date: 2008-01-01Provides an overview of current thinking on the period.Traces the great political, social and economic upheavals of the time.
The Cambridge Companion to Kafka by ISBN: 0511999801Publication Date: 2006-05-28Contributions cover all the key texts, and discuss Kafka's writing in a variety of critical contexts such as feminism, deconstruction, psycho-analysis, Marxism, Jewish studies. Other chapters discuss his impact on popular culture and film. The essays are well supported by supplementary material including a chronology of the period and detailed guides to further reading, and will be of interest to students of German, European and Comparative Literature, Jewish Studies.
- Deutsche BiographieGerman nation database of biographical information. Entry on Kafka has details you won't find elsewhere (if you can read German and have the patience to decipher the abbreviations!)