Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Boatwright Memorial Library

History 401: The Resurgent Revoluton: The Making of Modern Nicaragua (Meyer): Home

LibGuides Menu

Tips for Library Research

1.   History Research should begin at the library web site found at http://library.richmond.edu/ and follow the link to Research Guides by Subject/Major.  Choose History and then choose the Course-Specific Guides or individual databases and web sites appropriate to your topic.  For classical history, go to the Classical Studies Subject/Major page.  You can access other subject areas, e.g., Art, Anthropology, Literature, Political Science, Women studies etc, when appropriate to your research.

2.   The research process will involve using many different kinds of resources.  Keeping a log of which online resources, books, journals, media, intelibrary loan materials, and manuscripts that were used will help you keep track of your research for creating footnotes and bibliography.
 

3.   Catalogs, like the UR Library Catalog and WorldCat (for Interlibrary Loan only) are your best sources for books, primary sources, bibliographies, and reference works.  To find journal or newspaper articles you will need to use online indexes and fulltext databases.

4.
   A good book or journal article can be a bridge to more primary research sources if it has footnotes or a bibliography.  Even books and articles in languages you do not read may list sources in languages you do read.

5.  Where available, use browse features of databases to discover subject headings used, because the same topic may have been assigned different subject headings over time.

6.   Keep in mind that many useful resources, and not just primary sources, are print works, and not electronic or Internet resources.  The Research Guides by Subject/Major library web page, focus primarily on electronic resources. 

7.  If you can’t find what you need, please email or schedule an appointment with your History Liaison librarian, Lynda Kachurek. 

Welcome

This guide is designed to provide research support for History 401: The Resurgent Revolution? The Making of Modern Nicaragua by identifying research resources of potential interest. These sites are not meant to be exhaustive.  They should serve as entry points into possible topics to be considered for research projects.  

Basic Library Tools

Information Literacy

Think Like A Historian

Head, Rare Books & Special Collections; History Librarian

Profile Photo
Lynda Kachurek
she/her
Contact:
Office: Boatwright Library B1-50A
804-289-8458
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.