FYS 100 (45): Modern American Human Rights Lawyers (Stubbs)
Recommended Databases for Assignment
-
OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
Finding Background Resources:
-
Oxford Handbooks This link opens in a new windowSearch the Oxford Handbooks, which offer overviews of original research in a particular subject area. Essays from leading figures in each discipline give critical examinations of the progress and direction of debates, as well as a foundation for future research. (Oxford)
-
Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Search for concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. These short books are written by experts in the field and cover everything from Vatican II to the Civil Rights Movement to Medical Ethics. Note: Only 5 users may access this database at one time. (Oxford)
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles and legal materials such as court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more. (Lexis-Nexis)
-
Bowling, Beatniks, and Bell-Bottoms: Pop Culture of 20th- and 21st-Century AmericaCovers the popular culture of the 20th Century and first decade of the 21st Century.
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Access nonpartisan reports and background information on controversial topics and policy issues. These reports were historically written for members of Congress to understand all sides of a particular issue. The reports in this database date from 1923-present. (Sage)
-
Decades in AmericaProvides a survey of North America in the twentieth century, with sharp focus on each decade. Content covers events, movements, people, and trends in popular culture, literature, art, sports, science, technology, economics, and politics in both the United States and Canada.
-
America DecadesCross-disciplinary source for researchers who need to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history.
Library Presentation Slides
Liaison Librarian
(804)-289-8262
Refectory, Room #143 (during Boatwright Library construction)