General Guidelines
Tips for finding biographical information:
- Don't forget to check the library catalog in OneSearch for physical and ebooks. Selecting the "Books & More" tab will automatically filter results to books.
- In any encyclopedia databases you use, be sure to double-check how to cite information from those pages, and use their reference lists/sections on "Additional Reading" to find more sources on your subjects
- You can search for additional resources in newspapers using the library's News Sources Research Guide
Recommended Resources
- Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new windowAccess biographies of people who shaped British history and culture. Note: Only one user at a time may access this database. (Oxford)
- eBook Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks that provide a broad overview of many topics. The database includes mostly reference works, such as encyclopedias, almanacs, yearbooks, handbooks, and more. (Gale)
- eBook Collection (ProQuest/Ebook Central) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks on a wide variety of topics from many different university presses and commercial publishers. (ProQuest)
- Gale In Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new windowSearch for encyclopedia articles, journal articles, news articles, primary source documents, audio, and video on many topics connected to US History. (Gale)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowSearch for biographies, overviews, and critical analysis of literary topics, authors, and their works. (Gale)
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
