Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Boatwright Memorial Library

COMPUTER SCIENCE RESEARCH GUIDE: Home

LibGuides Menu

Specialized databases in computer science

Use online databases to locate references to journal articles, book chapters, books, and more.  Most online databases provide abstracts but many will also link you to full-text resources.  Use Journal Locator to determine which journal titles you may access at UR.

Background information & key reference works in computer science

Use encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks to obtain an overview of your subject, an understanding of basic concepts, a summary of key issues, definitions, and data.  Encyclopedia articles frequently include bibliographies and may refer you to other entries on related topics. 

  • AccessScience (the online edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology)
         REF Q121 .M3 2007
  • Computer Dictionary
         REF QA76.15 .S64 1993
  • A Dictionary of Computing
         REF QA76.15 .D526 1997
  • Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology
         REF QA76.15 .H43 2009
  • Encyclopedia of Database Technologies and Applications
         e-book
  • FOLDOC - Free Online Dictionary of Computing
  • Jargon: An Informal Dictionary of Computer Terms
         REF QA76.15 .W56 1993
  • Macmillan Encyclopedia of Computers
         REF QA76.15 .M33 1992
  • Oxford Reference Online (Dictionary of Computing)

Social Sciences Librarian

Profile Photo
Samantha Guss
she/her
Contact:
Office: 182 Boatwright Library,
Research & Collaborative Area
Email: sguss@richmond.edu
Phone: 804-289-8851
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.