Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Boatwright Memorial Library

PSYC 200 - Methods and Analyses (Lambert): Using PsycInfo

APA PsycNET

APA PsycNET is a series of databases that include PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES and PsycBOOKS.

PsycINFO—contains citations and abstracts from a wide range of scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. This database includes journals, books, reviews, and dissertations.

PsycARTICLES—contains full-text journal articles in subject areas such as applied psychology, health, theory, research, social/personality, and more. Here you can find full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group.

PsycBOOKS—contains full-text books. Here you will find books published by APA, classic books from as early as 1597, and entries from the Encyclopedia of Psychology

Advanced Searching

PsycNET will default to an ADVANCED SEARCH.

The Advanced Search section allows you to select specific searchable fields for your search and combine multiple search queries with the Boolean operators AND, OR, or NOT.  To put more than two queries in a search, click on +add row.

 

Thesaurus

The APA Thesaurus allows you to select search terms from the APA Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. Selecting search terms from the Thesaurus will increase the precision, reliability, and comprehensiveness of subject searches across APA databases.

Select search terms by clicking the box on the left of the term. Selected terms will populate the Selected Terms box. Terms can be combined with Boolean operators in this box. Click Add to Search to send the selected terms to the Advanced Search Screen.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.