Research & Instruction
ASK a Librarian | Subject Specialists
Our librarians are available throughout the year (availability varies by service) to answer reference questions from members of the University of Richmond community or questions about the University of Richmond and its library collections.
Parsons Music Library
- Parson Music LibraryThe Music Library is a resource for all UR students, faculty, and staff; members of the community are also welcome to visit. Our recent renovation created a greatly enlarged study area with many options for seating. We have over 13,000 CDs, 18,000 scores, and 12,000 books about all types of music and dance. Our DVD collection includes operas, musicals, dance performances, concerts, instructional programs, and documentaries. Also available are laptop computers, iPads, a printer, a photocopier, and a scanner.
Digital Scholarship Lab
- Digital Engagement & CollectionsBoatwright Library's Digital Engagement Team creates digital collections of University publications, of archival materials held by the University, and of materials that advance learning and research at and beyond the University. They execute or manage each stage in this process, from digitization of print or analog materials to the creation of transcriptions and metadata, and from the development of digital collections to the long-term preservation of digital materials for future generations.
UR Scholarship Repository
- UR Scholarship RepositoryItems included here reflect the research and scholarly work of the University of Richmond community.
Book Arts, Archives, and Rare Books
- Archives & Rare BooksLocated within Boatwright Library, the Galvin Rare Book Room and Archives supports the educational mission of the University of Richmond by preserving and providing access to our diverse collection of materials for use by students, faculty, staff, scholars, and the general public. We hope to provide an environment that challenges researchers of all types to engage with historical materials and primary sources while building connections to earlier generations and gain an understanding of the use and care for such materials. Items can be located in the library catalog.
Designed to support our Book Arts studio, the Book Arts collection combines technical manuals, descriptive and historical works, and artists' books and creations. Artists' books are housed within the Galvin Rare Book room; more technical manuals and project guides are housed in the Book Arts Studio, and more general descriptive works are located in the circulating collection. More information on individual items is available in the library catalog, and all are noted as part of the Book Arts Collection, so that the collection may be searched as a whole.
Reverend Dr. Wyatt T. Walker
- Revered Dr. Wyatt T WalkerThe Reverend Dr. Wyatt Tee Walker (August 16, 1929 – January 23, 2018) was a major figure in the Civil Rights Movement of the 1950s and 1960s, as well as a prominent minister, theologian of the black religious tradition, and scholar and composer of black gospel music. Dr. Walker was also a developer of affordable housing in New York City and co-founder of the first charter school approved by the State University of New York. Dr. Walker and his wife, Theresa Ann Walker, donated the Dr. and Mrs. Wyatt Tee Walker Collection to the University of Richmond in 2016.