Humanities Librarian
Marcia Whitehead
Contact:
Boatwright Library
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Subjects: American Studies, Biography, Book Reviews, Citing Sources, Classical Studies, E-Books, English & Literature, First Year Seminar, French, German, Humanities, International Education, Language and Linguistics, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Studies, Master of Liberal Arts, Primary Resources, Reference Sources, Rhetoric & Communication Studies, Richmond Area , Russian, Scholarly Publications, Spanish, Special Topics
Finding Images
Some of the online encyclopedias and articles will have images, but it is not always possible to copy or save them because they are protected. Here are some other ways to find images.
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowAccess thousands of images from art, architecture, archaeology, decorative arts and design, and visual culture in general. The content comes from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives. (ITHAKA)
- Creative CommonsYou can use this web site to find images that the creators/license owners are willing to share.
- FlickrPhoto sharing web site.
- Google ImagesAs easy as any Google search.
- PexelsFree stock photos. Search by topic, style, even dominant color.
- UnsplashFreely usable images of people, places, and spaces. Artsier than those in Pexels.
Fair Use of Images Resources
- Digital Image Rights ComputatorCheck to see if the images you want to use and the ways you want to use them are compliant in terms of Fair Use.
- Stanford University Libraries Fair Use SiteThis is a good compilation of charts and tools related to Fair Use.
Creative Commons Images
- Creative Commons Images: How to Find ThemInformation from the UR Writer's Web on how to find images that have Creative Commons licenses and can be used with attribution.
Free & Legal Streaming Video Resources on the Web
- MovieclipsProvides more than 12,000 short clips from feature films licensed from Fox, MGM, Paramount, Sony, Universal and Warner Bros. The Movieclips player can be embedded in social media and used in PowerPoint presentations. Reuse of the clips requires registering with the site.
- UbuWeb: Film & VideoA resource for avant-garde and experimental media with an extensive film and video collection.
- Internet ArchiveThe Internet Archive's moving image collection provides access to nearly a quarter million films, uploaded by users, ranging from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts, and ephemeral films from the Prelinger Archive.
- FolkstreamsA large collection of documentary films about American folk, or roots cultures. Includes essays about the traditions and filmmakers, transcriptions, study and teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites.
- Media Burn ArchiveThe Media Burn Archive features a collection of documentary video and television created by artists, activists, and community groups.
- National Film Board of CanadaThe National Film Board of Canada is a Canadian government agency that produces and distributes documentary, animation, alternative drama and digital media productions. The NFB website provides information on over 13,000 National Film Board of Canada films, and includes free access to over 2,000 films, excerpts, trailers, and interactive works for online screening.