It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Mythical Zoo covers everything from frogs and grasshoppers to dolphins, salmon, rabbits, and tigers. After a masterful overview, there are about 50 entries with references to literature from a variety of cultures and extensive illustrations ranging from medieval prints to cartoons and advertisements.
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications.
Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present
Biographies, overviews, and critical analysis of literary topics, authors, and their works
Biographical sketches of over 130,000 authors and critical articles on over 2,000 authors from all times and places, and on their works. Includes essays from reference works, journals, and books. Content covers numerous centuries, mainly 20th and some 19th.; Full-text
Broadest resource of scholarly research on human cultural, social, environmental and political behaviors
Covers a variety of social sciences including: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, International Relations, Minority Studies, Policy Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work, and Sociology.; Full-text, abstracts, and citations; Full-text & abstracts: 1995 - present; Citations: 1907 - present
A broad selection of scholarly publications in religion and philosophy
Extensive coverage of topics including world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy, and the history of philosophy.; Citations, abstracts, and full-text; 1975 - present
Comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods
Full-text, citations, and abstracts; Dates: 1930 - present; Additional Information: The majority of full-text titles in this database are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965.
Each of these documents offers useful concepts and strategies for reading scholarly journal articles. Different disciplines observe different standards. Articles in the humanities rarely have the formal structures described on many of these sites. For example, the "literature review" often consists of a paragraph or two in which the authors name previous scholars who have asked related questions (and then declare their inadequacies). But they always explain the focus of their question, justifying it as worthy of their attention, are explicit about the stages of their analysis, providing evidence for each claim, and document their sources.