Reference Works
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present by
Focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period, this encyclopedia traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Great Migration, the Brown ruling that overturned Plessy, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African American culture on the American cultural landscape. Covering African American history in all areas of U.S. history and culture from 1896 to the present, the Encyclopedia contains approximately 1,200 fully cross-referenced entries that are all signed by leading scholars and experts, making this five-volume set the most reliable and extensive treatment to be found on African American history in the twentieth century. The set also contains 500 images and roughly 640 biographies, as well as an entry on each of the fifty states. In addition to its comprehensive coverage of African Americans, the Encyclopedia also contains entries about key figures who affected the lives of African Americans in particular and Americans in general. Unrivalled in breadth and scope, this is the preeminent source of information on this topic and is destined to become a trusted reference source for years to come.
Publication Date: 2009
They and We by
Since its release shortly after the famous March on Washington in 1963, They and We has been a leading text in the field of racial and ethnic relations in the United States. The tradition continues. They and We, 6th edition, presented in the form of twelve linked essays plus an epilogue, offers a jargon-free introduction to the critical study of America's people, their origins and encounters. In addition to a four chapter section devoted to the social history of our diverse population, the author examines the roots of prejudice, patterns of discrimination, the meaning of "minority status," and the issues of power, politics, and pluralism. Particular attention is paid to continuing struggles for group rights among those most beleaguered, reactions to the dramatic increases in immigration from Asia and Latin America and the resurgence of nativism among those who once again feel threatened by "alien" forces, recent political crises such as occurred in the aftermath of the attack on the World Trade Towers and the Pentagon on September 11, 2001, and the war and occupation in Iraq, and continuing debates over multiculturalism. Every chapter has been updated and, where appropriate, changed or added to in light of new challenges and new perspectives. Those familiar with this sociological classic will be pleased to note that Peter Rose's approach to this subject continues to be grounded in his sensitive and engaging approach to the consideration and assessment of troubling issues. Others will come to appreciate this orientation. And all will benefit from the explication of key concepts, the clarity of exposition, and the comprehensiveness of coverage - from the observations of the French visitor Alexis de Tocqueville to contemporary Critical Race Theorists -- in what is still a rather small book.
Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedia of African American Society by
Do your students or patrons ever ask you about African Americans in sports? How about African American Academy Award winners? Or perhaps you′re asked about more complex social issues regarding the unemployment rate among African Americans, or the number of African American men on death row? If these questions sound familiar, the Encyclopedia of African American Society is a must-have for your library. This two-volume reference seeks to capture the ways in which the tenets and foundations of African American culture have given rise to today′s society. Approaching the field from a "street level" perspective, these two volumes cover topics of universal interest in America: rap music, sports, television, cinema, racism, religion, literature, and much more. The Encyclopedia of African American Society is also the first comprehensive yet accessible reference set in this field to give voice to the turbulent historical trends-slavery, segregation, "separate but equal"-that are often ignored in favor of mere facts. This is a definitive, reliable, and accessible entry point to learning the basics about African American society. The encyclopedia is anchored by alphabetically arranged essays on such topics as abolitionism, affirmative action, and the civil rights movement. More than just a "who′s who", these volumes emphasize social issues and events--those filled with significance and consequence through history. Civil Rights, economic growth, law and justice, and politics--with all of their numerous subcategories--receive substantial coverage. The encyclopedia naturally contains hundreds of articles on notable African Americans (Martin Luther King, Jr., Jackie Robinson, Miles Davis), groundbreaking events (Emancipation Proclamation, Los Angeles Riots), sports and culture (Rap Music, Jazz), and significant heritage sites (Apollo Theater). This much needed two-volume encyclopedia should become a staple in collections at school, public, and academic libraries. Readers of all ages, backgrounds, and ethnic or racial groups will find fascinating material on every page. Key Features Nearly 700 signed articles Almost 50 photographs Complete list of African Americans in sports Halls of Fame Cross-referenced for easy links from one topic to another Reader′s guide facilitates easy browsing for relevant articles Clear, accessible writing style appropriate for high school and college students and interested lay readers Comprehensive index and bibliography Topics Covered Concepts and Theories Fine Arts, Theater, and Entertainment Health and Education History and Heritage Literature Media Movements and Events Music and Dance Organizations and Institutions Places Politics and Policy Popular Culture Religion and Beliefs The Road to Freedom Science, Technology, and Business Social Issues Special Populations Sports Advisory Board Sherri L. Barnes, Davidson Library, University of California, Santa BarbaraW. Maurice Shipley, Ph.D., Ohio State UniversityWilliam H. Wiggins, Jr., Ph.D., Indiana University
Publication Date: 2005
Racial and Ethnic Relations in America by
This comprehensive work discusses the history of race relations in America and provides new insights into racial relations and tensions seen in our cities, in the media, and on the minds of Americans today. Over 900 entries present clear, detailed descriptions of ideas and theories, descriptions of people and events, and essential facts about court cases, laws and movements.
Publication Date: 2017
Encyclopedia of African-American Education by
This indispensable reference is a comprehensive guide to significant issues, policies, historical events, laws, theories, and persons related to the education of African-Americans in the United States. Through several hundred alphabetically arranged entries, the volume chronicles the history of African-American education from the systematic, long-term denial of schooling to blacks before the Civil War, to the establishment of the Freedmen's Bureau and the era of Reconstruction, to Brown v. Board of Education and the civil rights reforms of the last few decades. Entries are written by expert contributors and contain valuable bibliographies, while a selected bibliography of general sources concludes the volume. The African-American population is unique in that its educational history includes as law and public policy the systematic, long-term denial of the acquisition of knowledge. In the 18th century, African-Americans were initially legally forbidden to be taught academic subjects in the South, where most African-Americans lived. This period, which ended around 1865 with the conclusion of the Civil War and the establishment of the Freedmen's Bureau, was followed by the introduction of laws, policies, and practices providing for rudimentary education for 69 years under the dual-school, separate-but-equal policies established by Plessy v. Ferguson (1896). These policies did not end until the Brown v. Board of Education decisions of 1954 and 1955 were reinforced by the passage of civil rights and equal opportunity legislation in the mid-1960s. The education of African-Americans has been a continuing moral, political, legal, economic, and psychological issue throughout this country's history. It continues to consume time and attention, and it remains an unresolved dilemma for the nation. Through several hundred alphabetically arranged entries, this indispensable reference offers a comprehensive overview of significant issues, policies, historical events, laws, persons, and theories related to African-American education from the early years of this country to the present day. The entries are written by expert contributors, and each entry includes a bibliography of works for further reading. A selected, general bibliography concludes the volume.
Publication Date: 1996
Databases
- Gale In Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new windowSearch for encyclopedia articles, journal articles, news articles, primary source documents, audio, and video on many topics connected to US History. (Gale)
- Making of Modern Law This link opens in a new windowFind primary source documents that explore all aspects of American and British law. Access ACLU papers, records from the U.S. Court of Appeals, legal treatises from the 19th and 20th centuries, trial documents dating back to the 1600s, and U.S. Supreme Court records and briefs. (Gale)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
