WHY to cite your sources
Citation: A (Very) Brief Introduction from NCSU Libraries
- University of Richmond Honor Council & the UR Honor CodeThe UR Honor Council maintains the University's Honor Code used in order to maintain high standards of academic integrity. This website provides information on the Honor Code Pledge students are required to acknowledge for assignments.
Chicago/Turabian Quick Citing Examples
-
Chicago Style - Citation Quick Guide - [Part of subscription access available to UR faculty, staff and students] - Includes both Footnotes and Author/Date examples.
* * * *
There are 2 styles to choose from when using Chicago -- for this FYS, you'll use Chicago Notes & Bibliography (the kind with footnotes).
1. Notes/Bibliography: numbered footnotes or endnotes at the bottom of each page, with Bibliography or Works Cited list at the end of the paper, listing alphabetically the sources in your notes. Your professor may not require that you include a separate Works Cited list if all of the information is included in your footnotes -- but you may be asked to provide a bibliography of all sources consulted.
2. Reference List/Parenthetical (in-text citations) - Author/Date: in your text, brief references are listed consisting of the author's last name, publication year, and page(s) referred to, with an alphabetized Reference List at the end of your paper. The reference list at the end of your paper provides complete entries for works cited in parenthetical references.
The Bluebook
The Bluebook by Call Number: KF245 .D853 2010 (Boatwright Reference section)ISBN: 9780692400197Publication Date: 2015Available in the Boatwright Reference section on the 1st floor OR at the front desk
HOW to cite your sources
Boatwright Library has lots of resources to help you cite your sources, no matter which style you're using.
Option 1: Look at the CITING SOURCES RESEARCH GUIDE. Here you'll find links to resources on APA, Chicago/Turabian, MLA, and more.
Option 2: Use a tool like EasyBib or Zotero (see below).
Need help? Ask a Librarian!
ZoteroBib tool
- ZoteroBibZoteroBib is a free service that helps you quickly create a bibliography in any citation style.
Zotero
Zotero is a free, open source citation management tool that works through web browsers Firefox, Chrome, or Safari. Zotero allows you to automatically import citations into your personal account, organize your sources into folders, and generate bibliographies in a variety of citation styles. It also includes a word processor plugin for formatting footnotes and parenthetical citations.
Visit www.zotero.org to download Zotero. You can choose to download (1) the Zotero Firefox extension "Zotero for Firefox" or (2) "Zotero Standalone," which works independently from your web browser.
