What's a Database? How do I find Articles?
Library databases provide access to journal, magazine and news articles. Remember that scholarly journals contain articles that are written by people who are experts in that field.
Databases usually focus on a specific subject area, but many cover a wide range of subjects. You must select the proper database to use for your research. Review the database descriptions to find the one that best suits your needs. Begin your search by simply entering keywords into the basic search box.
The database will provide you with the citation information, meaning the title of the article, the author, and publication information and usually an abstract. Most of the time, the library will carry the articles in full text and other times, it may only contain the citation information.
Selected Databases
Here's a sample of an EBSCO database, LGBT Life with Full-Text. the ProQuest database. See the ALL DATABASES list for other selections.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer communities. (EBSCO)
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowSearch for information that provides perspective on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports. (ProQuest)
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles from hundreds of national and regional newspapers, as well as transcripts of television and radio news. (EBSCO)
