EuropeanaEuropeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage.
Ideas and inspiration can be found within the more than 15 million items on Europeana.
The Victoria and Albert Museum in London is allowing scholars and individuals to use high resolution images free of charge for academic/scholarly publications, study and research and in student theses. See the link for full terms and conditions of use.
IAP currently offers 6,700 from The Metropolitan Museum of Art and 3,900 images from the Mellink Archive (Bryn Mawr College). These images are publication-quality and free-of-charge for use in scholarly publications. You can access them via ARTstor.
LUNacommons.orgLUNAcommons.org is a free public resource for users to discover primary source materials with authoritative descriptive data. Collections are from reputable sources for educational and public use.
NGA (U.S.) Images - High Resolution DownloadsMore than 25,000 open access digital images up to 3000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use. NGA Images is designed to facilitate learning, enrichment, enjoyment, and exploration.
Public Domain Review"The Public Domain Review aspires to become a bounteous gateway into the whopping plenitude that is the public domain, helping our readers to explore this rich terrain by surfacing unusual and obscure works, and offering fresh reflections and unfamiliar angles on material which is more well known."
Rijksmuseum CollectionThe Rijksmuseum is offering its entire collection free to the public to use, to manipulate, and to create new work.
This code provides visual-arts professionals (and those who use images in their research and teaching) with a set of principles addressing best practices in the fair use of copyrighted materials. It describes how fair use can be invoked and implemented when using copyrighted materials in scholarship, teaching, museums, archives, and in the creation of art.
Most images are protected by coyright. Make sure that the copyright owner has granted creative commons permissions for academic use before you republish an image you have found. For more resources, visit the Images Libguide.
Access thousands of images from art, architecture, archaeology, decorative arts and design, and visual culture in general. The content comes from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives. (ITHAKA)