Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
From Idea to Library
From Idea to Library video from NCSU Libraries
Annotated Bibliography Template
Databases for finding scholarly articles
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
Broad disciplinary databases:
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Search an index of journal articles in the liberal arts and the sciences. This link cross-searches the Core databases, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It's part of the Web of Science platform and can also be used to track, evaluate, and compare journals and articles. Tools included are the number of citations, the journal's impact factor, and other metrics. (Clarivate)
- Medline This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on topics related to biology, medicine, and psychology. (Clarivate)
Specific disciplinary databases:
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles, reports, and grey literature on topics related to the world's public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. "PAIS" stands for "Public Affairs Information Service," and the content dates from the early 1900s-present. (ProQuest)
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to political science, political theory, political behavior, public policy, law, international relations, comparative politics, and non-governmental organizations. (EBSCO)
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to humans' impact on the environment, such as global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. (EBSCO)
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and more. (EBSCO)
- EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles in all fields of economics, including the American Economic Association journals, working papers, and many non-English full-text journals in economics and finance. (EBSCO)
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles, dissertations books, book chapters, and conference papers on sociology and related topics in social and behavioral sciences. (ProQuest)
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to business. Also included is some financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more. (EBSCO)
Social Sciences Librarian
261 Richmond Way
Richmond, VA 23238