Humanities Librarian
Marcia Whitehead
Contact:
Boatwright Library
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Subjects: American Studies, Biography, Book Reviews, Citing Sources, Classical Studies, E-Books, English & Literature, First Year Seminar, French, German, Humanities, International Education, Language and Linguistics, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Studies, Master of Liberal Arts, Primary Resources, Reference Sources, Rhetoric & Communication Studies, Richmond Area , Russian, Scholarly Publications, Spanish, Special Topics
Other Reference Books for LAIS 305
Most of these links will take you to the catalog record for a book, from which you can determine its location (ususally in the reference collection on the first floor)
- Countries and Their Cultures[From review in Library Journal] This work's strength is that readers who know very little about a country can quickly obtain a good orientation to the major issues, history, and social structure of a nation. The 225 entries are between ten and 20 pages long and read like a cross between a well-written encyclopedia article, a travel guide, and a social science essay.
- Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture /[From review in Booklist] Emphasis is on political, economic, and social history, but articles on art, anthropology and archaeology, and other cultural topics are included with a focus on their impact on history.
- Worldmark encyclopedia of cultures and daily lifeYou'll want vol. 2--Americas
- Enciclopedia hispanicaA general encyclopedia in Spanish
- Worldmark chronology of the nationsYou'll want vol. 2--Americas
- Hispanic literature of the United States : a comprehensive referenceIdentifies the major authors, books, trends, and themes
- The Cambridge history of Latin AmericaThe full text of this encyclopedia is also available in the Cambridge Histories Online.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowSearch these ebooks (often spanning multiple volumes) that provide both a broad and deep overview of historical eras and ideas. (Cambridge)
- Dictionary of twentieth century cultureMulti-volume encyclopedia; v. 21 covers Hispanic Culture of Mexico, Central American, and the Carribbean.
- Latin American WritersCovers life and works of most important writers. The full text of these volumes is incorporated into Literature Resource Center, on the Databases page.
- Latin American Literature and its TimesUseful commentary on cultural context of specific major works.
- Writers of the Caribbean and Central AmericaThis bibliography will lead to other sources of criticism.
- Encyclopedia of Latin American theaterAvailable both in print and online, through NetLibrary