Carrie Ludovico
Carrie Ludovico
Contact:
Business Librarian
(804) 287-6647
Subjects: Accounting, Business, Citing Sources, Copyright & Fair Use, Data & Statistics, Economics, First Year Seminar, Human Resources Management, International Business, Management, Marketing, Nonprofit Studies, Open Access & Faculty Scholarship, OSHER, PPEL, Primary Resources, Reference Sources, Richmond Area , Scholarly Publications, Special Topics
US Labor Statistics - Gov't Sources
The Federal Government gathers a number of statistics relating to labor and employment, including Industries at a Glance, Unemployment and Occupation. For Employment, look at the Employment by Occupation links, as well as the Job Openings and Labor Turnover Surveys. For Earnings, the Wages by Area and Occupation is a useful dataset, as well as the Employee Benefits set.
Many of these are also available through the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis's FRED data interface. Population, Employment and Labor Markets information is available here, in the form of searchable graphs which can be manipulated to show various elements.
Statistical Abstract (US Government Sources)
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearch for statistics in this yearly publication that illuminate the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. The data covers the years 1878-2012 and has been compiled from a variety of public and private sources. (ProQuest)
Virginia Labor Market Statistics
- Virginia's Career and Workforce Labor InformationWebsite covers statistics on occupations, employment, economic indicators for Virginia to the county and city level.
Databases
- Statista This link opens in a new windowSearch for statistics on topics related to business, markets, mass media, technology, and more. The data is compiled from a variety of public and private sources. (Statista)
- OECD Data This link opens in a new windowFind, compare, and share the latest OECD charts, maps, tables, and related publications. (OECD)
- Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS) This link opens in a new windowAccess country, industry and company data and analysis from more than 500 sources for emerging markets in Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and the Middle East. The database includes country profiles; macroeconomic statistics, forecasts, and analysis; exchange rates; analyst reports; and business news. Note: Only 2 users may access this database at one time. (ISI Emerging Markets Group)
- World Bank Documents and Reports This link opens in a new windowSearch for reports and working papers published by the World Bank on international and country-specific economic, development, and environmental issues. (World Bank)
- ILOSTAT - International Labour Office (ILO)Provides international information on wages, employment rates, cost of goods, hours worked, etc.
Wage Growth Tracker
- Wage Growth TrackerThe Atlanta Fed's Wage Growth Tracker is a measure of the nominal wage growth of individuals. It is constructed using microdata from the Current Population Survey (CPS), and is the median percent change in the hourly wage of individuals observed 12 months apart. Our measure is based on methodology developed by colleagues at the San Francisco Fed.
The Wage Growth Tracker is updated once the Atlanta Fed's CPS dataset is constructed (see the "Explore the Data" tab below). This is usually by the second Friday of the month. The exact timing depends on when the Bureau of the Census publishes the micro data from the CPS.