Education Research Databases
-
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to education, including all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. (EBSCO)
-
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the US Department of Education, this database contains journal articles, books, research reports, teaching, and more on the topic of education research and resources. Note: An open-access version is available online for anyone to use. (EBSCO)
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles and books on topics related to psychology. (APA)
-
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. (ProQuest)
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
Finding Books
Search in the library catalog for books using OneSearch
-
OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
From the results screen, you can narrow down results to just books available in person at UR by clicking the "In the Library" and "Books" filters from the left-side of the screen
There are two main ways to specifically find ebooks in the library:
1. OneSearch
- After searching for your topic in OneSearch, add the "Online" and "Books" filters to narrow results to ebooks
2. Ebooks Databases
- Access the following databases directly to search for relevant ebooks
- ***Note: these are not the only ebook databases available at UR, nor do they feature results that wouldn't come up in OneSearch. Rather they allow you to more easily browse relevant ebooks based on your research topic
-
eBook Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks that provide a broad overview of many topics. The database includes mostly reference works, such as encyclopedias, almanacs, yearbooks, handbooks, and more. (Gale)
-
eBook Collection (Project MUSE) This link opens in a new window
Search for ebooks on a wide range of topics from major university presses and scholarly publishers, mostly in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. (Project MUSE)
-
eBook Collection (JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
Search for ebooks on a wide range of topics from university presses, public policy organizations, and independent presses. Note: Books and journal articles are searched through the same portal, so make sure to filter by books. (ITHAKA)
-
eBook Collection (Cambridge University Press) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks on topics in the humanities, social sciences, and science disciplines. (Cambridge)
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
- You can request books (and other resources) from other institutions using UR's interlibrary loan service
- The service is 100% free, though it may take a few days for your items to arrive
- Click here to activate your account or log in to the ILL system
- Questions? Contact our ILL department at ill@richmond.edu
Need help? Chat with a Librarian
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)