Humanities Librarian
Marcia Whitehead
Contact:
Boatwright Library
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Subjects: American Studies, Biography, Book Reviews, Citing Sources, Classical Studies, E-Books, English & Literature, First Year Seminar, French, German, Humanities, International Education, Language and Linguistics, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Studies, Master of Liberal Arts, Primary Resources, Reference Sources, Rhetoric & Communication Studies, Richmond Area , Russian, Scholarly Publications, Spanish, Special Topics
Book Sources
The links are to the catalog entries for these resources, so that you can determine whether they cover the publication date and subject of the book in which you are interested.
Electronic Sources
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles and legal materials such as court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more. (Lexis-Nexis)
- Books in Print with Reviews This link opens in a new windowIncludes professional reviews for many books published in recent years or republished in new or scholarly editions.
- Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1903-1982 This link opens in a new windowFind excerpts from and citations to reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and nonfiction. (EBSCO)
- New York TImes Book ReviewCurrent book reviews and bestseller lists.
- AmazonUse Amazon reviews with caution, since the reviewers aren't always especially qualified.
- Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2014 This link opens in a new windowTLS is a separate publication that is connected with The Times of London. Search this database for book reviews, book extracts, essays, and poems from leading writers from around the world. The TLS reviews books published in non-English languages, as well as film, opera, theatre, dance, radio, and television. (Gale)
- New York Times Historical Newspaper & Index This link opens in a new windowAccess the archives of the New York Times from 1851-2019. (ProQuest)
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch an archive of newspapers published in the 1800s by a variety of groups, including political parties, African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, and the Confederacy. This collection includes newspapers from every one of the 50 modern-day US states. (Gale)
- 19th Century UK Periodicals (Part II: Empire) This link opens in a new windowSearch a collection of periodicals that focus on the role Britain played as an imperial power throughout the 1800s. It contains periodicals from Australia, Canada, Ceylon, India, New Zealand, and South Africa. (Note: We only have access to Part II: Empire). (Gale)
- American Periodicals Series Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles published between 1740-1940 in special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, and children's and women's magazines. Topic covered include history, law, politics, religion, education, art, and more. (ProQuest)
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from the archives of the Times of London newspaper, which covers general news, culture, fine arts, politics, history, and more. (Gale)