Business Librarian
Industry Classification
- Understanding NAICS CodesThis guide, from IBIS World, describes the purpose and uses of NAICS codes.
- NAICS Code changesThe North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), the primary classification system used to measure our evolving economy, was recently updated. This page explains the rationale behind and implications of those changes.
Best Resources for Company Information
- Morningstar Investing Center This link opens in a new window
Access data and research reports for US stocks, mutual funds, and ETFs. (Morningstar, Inc.)
- Value Line Investment Survey This link opens in a new window
Access reports and analysis of stocks and mutual funds. This database evaluates and ranks the most investable stocks individually and by industry, as well as provides investment advice on the New York Stock Exchange. (Value Line)
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles and legal materials such as court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more. (Lexis-Nexis)
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Access public and private company information (both US and foreign). This database includes executive contacts, news, SWOT reports, analyst reports and industry reports. Build company lists, research executives and explore triggers for various corporate events. Also included are reports from First Research. (LSEG - Dun & Bradstreet)
- Market Atlas This link opens in a new window
Search this database for company information, such as financial statement data, annual reports, histories, subsidiaries, joint ventures, and more. (LSEG - Mergent)
- ReferenceUSA International Businesses This link opens in a new window
Access in-depth profiles of businesses from around the world. (Data Axle, Inc.)
- S&P NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Access a broad spectrum of industry, company, and investment analysis. The database includes S&P industry surveys and stock reports (S&P equity research) where you can drill down to industry and sub-industry key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, and more. (S&P Global)
Private Company Information
While several of the databases above (D&B Hoovers, S&P and Mergent) will have some information on private companies, the databases listed in this box specialize in that kind of information.
- PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Find data on non-publicly-traded corporations. Note: Click the "Direct Access" link to access the database. Create an account to save your searches. (PrivCo)
- PitchBook This link opens in a new window
This database contains company profiles, news and data for private equity, venture capital, and mergers & acquisitions research. (PitchBook)
- Million Dollar Directory (MDDI) (Mergent Archives) This link opens in a new window
Search for information on privately held and public companies and their executives. The content dates from 1959-present. (LSEG - Mergent)
- ReferenceUSA International Businesses This link opens in a new window
Access in-depth profiles of businesses from around the world. (Data Axle, Inc.)
Annual Reports
- Historical Annual Reports (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowAccess annual reports from US companies dating from 1844-2008. Find information on financial performance, key officers, competitors, and market trends. (ProQuest)