Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A discovery tool that searches most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings.
Welcome to the UR research guide for Computer Science! Use this guide to learn more about the library's rich resources in the computer sciences -- you can access books, databases, journals, and websites from this page.
I am the liaison librarian for Computer Science as well as many other science disciplines. Please contact me if you need any help with your research!
Background information & key reference works in computer science
Use encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks to obtain an overview of your subject, an understanding of basic concepts, a summary of key issues, definitions, and data. Encyclopedia articles frequently include bibliographies and may refer you to other entries on related topics.
- AccessScience (the online edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology)
REF Q121 .M3 2007
- Computer Dictionary
REF QA76.15 .S64 1993
- A Dictionary of Computing
REF QA76.15 .D526 1997
- Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology
REF QA76.15 .H43 2009
- Encyclopedia of Database Technologies and Applications
- FOLDOC - Free Online Dictionary of Computing
- Jargon: An Informal Dictionary of Computer Terms
REF QA76.15 .W56 1993
- Macmillan Encyclopedia of Computers
REF QA76.15 .M33 1992
- Oxford Reference Online (Dictionary of Computing)