LibGuides Menu

JOURNALISM

This guide outlines books, article databases and other sources to aid students and faculty researching a topic in Journalism.

Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Search for newspaper articles from hundreds of national and regional newspapers, as well as transcripts of television and radio news. (EBSCO)
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Search for newspaper articles and legal materials such as court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more. (Lexis-Nexis)
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Access news and company reports, stock quotes, and market information from Dow Jones and Reuters. This database has extensive international news coverage. (Dow Jones)
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on topics related to communication, linguistics, mass media, and journalism. (EBSCO)
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from news sources outside of the US and Canada, such as newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites. (ProQuest)
Newswires This link opens in a new window
Access near real-time news from the past 30 days from the Associated Press, United Press International, CNN Wire, and Business Wire. (EBSCO)
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)

Columbia Journalism Review
The electronic version of the Columbia Journalism Review, with articles and links to other newspapers and magazines.

BBC Monitoring: Summary of World Broadcasts, 1939-2001 This link opens in a new window
Search this primary source database for a window into radio broadcasts happening in the second half of the 20th century. At the start of WWII, trained specialists listened to radio broadcasts from around the world to help Britain and its allies gather open-source intelligence. Over the next 60 years, BBC expanded its scope and listened to radio broadcasts of all sorts of events. Transcripts were created, then translated into English, then read by experts, who then selected the critical content and compiled it into the daily reports that comprise this database. (Newsbank/Readex)
New York Times Historical Newspaper & Index This link opens in a new window
Access the archives of the New York Times from 1851-2019. (ProQuest)
Access World News (Historical and Current) This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from thousands of US and global news sources. It includes some audio and video news sources, as well as traditional newspapers. (Newsbank/Readex)