Skip to Main Content
Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Use this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
Dictionaries, Thesauri, & Quotations
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Look up the meaning of words in this updated, online version of the Oxford English Dictionary. It's particularly useful when researching the etymology of a word. (Oxford)
Merriam Webster Online - Dictionary & Thesaurus
Includes links to dictionary, thesaurus, encyclopedia, spanish/english definitions. Audio pronunciation available.
Bartlett's Familiar Quotations
More than 11,000 quotations from the 10th edition. Searchable by keyword, subject or author.
The Quotations Page
Established on the web in 1994, this site includes over 26,000 quotations from over 3,100 authors.
Famous Quotes and Authors
Contains over 25,000 quotes online from over 6,700 famous authors.
An Ask.com service, includes dictionary, thesaurus and translation features. This is a highly commercialized website -- so while the dictionary and thesaurus options are useful -- use good judgement when selecting any of the other options,
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Search for background information on a variety of topics published in the Oxford series of reference books. Find information on topics in the arts, sciences, history, language and literature, and more. (Oxford)
Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Access biographies of people who shaped British history and culture. Note: Only one user at a time may access this database. (Oxford)